how do i check my motherboard socket? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-02-2009, 11:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
askquest1on's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 105
Default how do i check my motherboard socket?

how do i check my CPU socket my CPU is a AMD sempron2.00ghz single core, was planning on replacing so i could see the other CPU options i have to look at.
__________________

askquest1on is offline  
Old 12-03-2009, 12:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: how do i check my motherboard socket?

Firstly remove the cpu and check the motherboard if it's
Socket A ,
Socket 754
Socket 939
Socket AM2
Socket AM2+

This will immedately tell you what socket your motherboard is

As for CPU combatilibity, you will need to find your motherboard manufacturer and model number and check their Support CPU list.
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 12-03-2009, 04:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: how do i check my motherboard socket?

Or you could use something like CPU-Z, it will tell you what CPU socket you have IIRC.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 12-03-2009, 06:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: how do i check my motherboard socket?

^^ Yep easier. CPUID


VV See red boxes for where to find your cpu type and motherboard info. VV
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Capture.jpg (20.0 KB, 4450 views)
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 12-03-2009, 10:34 AM   #5 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: how do i check my motherboard socket?

That is one way, and another is Belarc Advisor, which can give you that info as well.

EDIT: errr, well I thought so, but it doesn't. Anyway, as the others said CPU-Z is probably the easiest way.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
oldskool is offline  
Old 12-03-2009, 09:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: how do i check my motherboard socket?

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldskool View Post
That is one way, and another is Belarc Advisor, which can give you that info as well.

EDIT: errr, well I thought so, but it doesn't. Anyway, as the others said CPU-Z is probably the easiest way.
Just to clear this up some, Belarc Advisor tells mostly everything one would need to know, but it does not get incredibly specific unless your looking into your software keys/versions.

Although, Belarc DOES provide most Motherboard model numbers and your Processor type.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 12-04-2009, 01:28 AM   #7 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: how do i check my motherboard socket?

Well I went into Belarc Advisor right after I posted just to make sure I was right, and I did not see the socket type, but it did show the processor and everything about it, basically. I have found as a couple others mentioned, that CPU-Z works great for CPU type and socket information. But as you said, Corrosive, Belarc is detailed in some specific areas more than others.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
oldskool is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PC Troubleshooting Procedure List Harper Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 11-22-2013 04:58 PM
the get "must do before you die" checklist Luke Off Topic Discussion 21 05-26-2009 05:11 AM
Complete mess in my /var/log directory! lyecdevf Linux and Open Source 0 05-24-2009 08:10 AM
Long Beeps at start up freak67 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 12-06-2007 06:08 PM
Which MotherBoard Would you get? shan1784 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 06-01-2007 03:27 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.