how to determine power supply needs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2004, 06:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2
Default how to determine power supply needs

hey guys!

i just installed a DVD burner and now my system is rebooting at random. does anyone know of a way to determine how big your power supply should be? any rough estimate or anthing?



IPfreely is offline  
Old 01-06-2004, 07:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313

Unfortunatly, there is no 'one way' to determine the power supply you need. [ That I know of anyway. ] The only real way to do this is to go component by component and their power rating, but this is unrealistic.

350watts, used to be a 'standard' but with users adding more and more components, power needs have went up.

Your best bet, (especially if you plan to upgrade anymore) is to get a good brand 400/450 watt ps. It is always better to have more, than not enough. A ps of that size, should have no troubles running everything in a conventional box.

You could say I've been around.
Shakie is offline  
Old 01-06-2004, 10:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2

nuts that what i suspected. i've got 450 i think but i may need more:

3 HD's, 1.5G ram, 1 DVDROM, 1 DVDburner, 1CD burner, dual video cards, IDE controller card, audigy extegigy sound card, zip drive etc.. you get the picture

have any suggestions for a reputable 600W power supply?

thank you,
IPfreely is offline  
Old 01-07-2004, 06:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 7

you can have too little power, but you can't have too much. go for the overkill is what I advise.
sacrelicious is offline  
Old 01-07-2004, 09:32 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 104

my needs are 286watts it says and i have a 350watt generic ps. iF i add 3 extra fans, i got 2 fans right now will this powersupply handle it.

Like cheap fans. Im guessing 3 watts each, so i think so, but i could be wrong.

the following is running on this power supply right now.
I got 4.89volts for 5v and 3.24volts for 3.3v and 12.48volts for 12v
i confirmed these with a multimeter and there off by .0x on the asus probe.
Barton 2500
2 x ddr
rad 9200
2 fans 80mm 90mm
cpu fan? stock
Turbo-Athlon5 is offline  
Old 01-07-2004, 08:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 16

I'm running with 235W PS with no problem and it's not even hot yet. The site recommend 400W !!

Spinox is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.