how to determine how much power supply is needed? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2003, 04:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 32
Default how to determine how much power supply is needed?

can someone help me out i currently have a 250w PS but i am building a new pc and i would like to know how to determine how much supply is needed.
__________________

cammm14 is offline  
Old 12-28-2003, 01:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

It really depends on what devices you are going to be using. If you are using a couple hard drives, a CD-RW and/or a DVD-ROM/RW or whatever then you need to allow some power comfort. Also consider any devices that you will be connecting via FireWire or USB.
It wont hurt to "over do it". In most cases, you'll be fine with a power supply that puts out 400W or better.
I have a 420W in one of mine and have a bunch of external devices, 2 swap drives, a DVD, CD-RW, a lot of color-lit fans and a couple of UV tubes. I've never had a problem with power either.

In most cases, it's not the wattage amount, but the quality of the PSU itself. Make sure to buy a respected brand.

-Mike
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 12-28-2003, 02:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

I agree with Mike. And if you feel that maybe your PSU is going to be too powerful, remember this - too much is better than too little.
__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 12-28-2003, 09:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 221
Default

http://www.upgradesource.com/advice/advice061001.html
mobo is offline  
Old 12-28-2003, 09:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
XT
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788
Default

just go by feel. a good quality 350w now adays would work for a high end machine. Now dont get crappy psu like deer or Azen. Go thermeltake,enlight, etc etc. I would take a good quality 250w psu over a 550w crap psu like deer. And the heavier the psu the better the quality.
XT is offline  
Old 12-28-2003, 11:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by XT
just go by feel. a good quality 350w now adays would work for a high end machine. Now dont get crappy psu like deer or Azen. Go thermeltake,enlight, etc etc. I would take a good quality 250w psu over a 550w crap psu like deer. And the heavier the psu the better the quality.
I agree with about everyhting here...except...the heavier PSU the better the quality???

-Mike
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 12-29-2003, 01:02 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

that actually is true, heavier is better unless the manufacturer loaded it with a ton of lead. i think that indicates a better armature from heavier/ more wiring or maybe a more beefy core for the transformer. the reason is something like that i think.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 12-29-2003, 01:21 AM   #8 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Wow.....learn something new everyday!

-Mike
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 12-29-2003, 03:02 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 18
Default

Check this out. Its a Power Supply wattage calculator.

http://www.jscustompcs.com/power_supply/
__________________

TranquilityBase is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.