How to delete ALL data on hard drive? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-06-2005, 04:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to YanBooth
Default How to delete ALL data on hard drive?

Simply put: How to delete ALL data on hard drive?

Thanks

Yan
__________________

__________________
XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 04:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Assuming you don't want anyone recovering the data?

I don't think there's a fool proof way to completely erase all data without making it nonrecoverable, the best thing to do would be to format the drive a few times, and then write zeros to the disk.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 04:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

No...if you don't want anyone getting the data...first...get a magnet, and put i near the disk...and then take it apart.
__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 04:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default

sorry to steal thread, but if u change mobo's, will the data on the hard drive all disappear??
__________________
Quintox is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 05:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

nope...it won't if you do it right
__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 05:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Search the forum man. I think there have been a lot of discussion about this already with useful links and such. Essentially, write 0's (or 1s or a or b...) to the disk many many times over and over again..
Chankama is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 05:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to YanBooth
Default

I'm back, and its not that I don't want people to see the data, its that I cannot reinstall XP correctly, because I can see all the old data, but I cant access it...
__________________
XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 11:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

use killdisk or the HDD manufacturers utility disk to write zero's then.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.