How to choose a good audio card? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-10-2004, 06:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 408
Default How to choose a good audio card?

Hmm, seriously must i have a audio card if i already have an onboard audio? i really dont see the difference
__________________

cheerios is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 12:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4
Default

Getting an addon card does not use computer mem resources. Most have mem on the card giving you more computer resources to use elsewhere. You will howerver have to disable your builtin sound card to use an addon one. Sound Blaster sound card seem to be compatiable with most programs.
__________________

IPstndg is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 12:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

it all depends on how serious of a music listener you are. If you have some grand speaker set up and big money invested in then i'd say yes get a good quality sound card. I have a cheapo installed on mine and it works great for the Altec Lansings that I have. Don't waste the money on an expensive sound card unless youre going to blow the neighbors away with your new fangled theater speakers.
jaksback is offline  
Old 04-11-2004, 01:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 408
Default

haha im not goin to purchase a sound card, i dont really mind about the sounds it produces, im not an acoustic fanatic
cheerios is offline  
Old 04-11-2004, 07:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: How to choose a good audio card?

Quote:
Originally posted by cheerios
Hmm, seriously must i have a audio card if i already have an onboard audio? i really dont see the difference
Only if you are trying to the following :-
* Increase the number to surround speakers. Entry level motherboards come with AC97 2.1 sound. The middle range onward motherboards seem to come with AC97 5.1 Sound.
So if you want some thing like 6.1 or 7.1, then you might need a Creative Labs Sound Blaster Auditgy II Card.

* Sound recording, especially if you are trying to so some thing specialised. Eg. Coverting your vinal onto CD.

* THX/DTS sound. For those people that what there computer to be their home cinema system.

* Professional Sound Resording. if this is the case, then a Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS Platinum Pro is most likely the $#!+iest piece of gear that you own, as every thing else is most likely Yamaha.


Personally, I am thinking over getting a Creative Labs Sound Blaster Live for SUPERSONICB!+C# as I would like to improve it's sound recording/playback
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 04-11-2004, 06:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

well i'm about to order a sound card for my POS onboard "5.1" that is on my A7N8X DLX tomorrow. this is the best value in sound cards apparently and its only $40:

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...118-101&depa=0
==============================
this seems to be second best:

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...102-162&depa=0
=============================
and if youre really cheap this will be good:

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...120-101&depa=0
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 04-11-2004, 08:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

We rescently got some Cheap 'n'Nasty 4.1 at work. I am going to check them out some time.

The main thing that i would like to do with SUPERSONICB!+C# is do the occasionaly sound recording of music from my PS2.

I do like some one the PS2 Music from time to time. Eg. Some of the tunes from Midnight Club are pretty kickin'
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 04-12-2004, 05:30 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 408
Default

hmm, i really dun tink im gonna buy a sound card, not musically inclined anyhow
cheerios is offline  
Old 04-12-2004, 10:30 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

Cheerios, Hi again

Basically there are many differences between independant sound cards and in-built sound chips on your motherboard. The main and most important I found out recently (on my second PC) is that the onboard sound has a very limited bandwidth. I wanted to listen to music on Windows Media Player, play Unreal Tournament 1999 and talk to people on Teamspeak RC2. With my main system this is no problem because my sound card has many channels to use, but my onboard sound chip gave me very bad sound, like helicopter sound (went in a helicopter yesterday). I bought a sound card for my second computer and the problem was instantly solved.
__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 04-12-2004, 03:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 26
Default

compare....

SiSoftware Sandra

General Information
Device Name : Creative SB Live! Series
Manufacturer : Microsoft
Version : 5.10
Product ID : 101 / 1

Specific Wave Information
Maximum Standard Sampling Bits : 16-bit
Maximum Standard Sampling Rate : 44.1kHz
Channels : 65535

~~~ to ~~~


SiSoftware Sandra

General Information
Device Name : Microsoft Sound Mapper
Manufacturer : Microsoft
Version : 5.00
Product ID : 2 / 1

Specific Wave Information
Maximum Standard Sampling Bits : 16-bit
Maximum Standard Sampling Rate : 44.1kHz
Channels : 2


that was for the "recording" function, but same goes for playback.
__________________

kaa312 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.