How can one make a server from a normal computer. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-28-2005, 01:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default How can one make a server from a normal computer.

yea i want to know how can you make a server out of a normal computer as a gaming server or teamspeak server or both.
__________________

__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 02:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

but whats the software and so what you can do this with a old *** computer too.
__________________

__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 02:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Please outline what type of software you're talking about so some of us who are "behind the curve" can do some investigation. Thanks!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 02:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
ATIRAGEPRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,400
Send a message via AIM to ATIRAGEPRO Send a message via Yahoo to ATIRAGEPRO
Cool "LoginG**ness..."

OH FOR THE LOVE OF GOD, ANSWER THE MAN'S QUESTION!!

I really don't know, but DAN-THE-MAN told me about a software called Apache Server. I think it's only for websites though.

www.apache.org

It still requires programming on your part to run correctly. Their help files are sh!t from the depths of the earth.
__________________


Quote:
Originally posted by bonehelm
WTF ROFLMAO !!!! WTF OMFG LOL !!!! PARDON THE ****KING CAPS IM SO ROFL NOW !!!

I just found out I\'ve been using direct X 8.1 since its out.
He who knows when enough is enough will always have enough... - Lao Tzu
ATIRAGEPRO is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 02:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

for gaming sorry i thoguht i wrote it done i guess i didnt
yes only for gaming. Adn not on a linux computer. Becuase i dont know that much about them.
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 02:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

ok i will chack into it i want it for CS and i know they have some and also teamspeak, And i hope some thing for guildwars.
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 03:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

well you need to have xp pro or a windows server edition

home won't cut it. I'm in the middle of making me a media center server
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 03:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

CS has Windows and Linux server versions. Remember you'll need a good fast Internet connection if you wanna use it online.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 03:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

i do have a good connect speed. but i dont know that much about linux to mess with it.
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 04:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 93
Default

Dont bother with linux I have run a cs server on windows xp with no problems.

This site is a good reasource for cs servers if you need it. http://server.counter-strike.net/

If you want a web server get phperl its really easy to use and it will install everything you need.
If you want teamspeak I heard goodthings about ventrilo. So go to http://www.ventrilo.com/ and download the server program.
__________________

Crazed_climber is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.