How can i speed up my computer? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-26-2003, 11:38 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 11
Default

what do u recomend for a video card. i only have a couple hundred at most. i dont want to spend over 100 but i could get it for a christmas present maybe.
__________________

FlamingTeddiz is offline  
Old 11-26-2003, 11:57 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 549
Default

flamingteddiz- check this. however the price (last i heard) was anywhere from $150-$180. soo..
__________________

__________________
This is Linux country. If you listen carefully, you can hear Windows reboot...
<a href=\"http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html\"> How to ask questions the smart way.</a>
<a href=\"http://action.eff.org/action/index.asp?step=2&item=2906\"> Help stop the PIRATE Act.</a>


chrönik04 is offline  
Old 11-27-2003, 12:14 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 11
Default

ok thanks every one for the help
FlamingTeddiz is offline  
Old 11-27-2003, 03:38 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

I played neverwinter nights with a video card similar to your RADEON. I had an NVIDIA MX 2 with only 32 M of memory.

My system was a 750 MHz with only 256 M of RAM without any problems.

Here are a few tips.

Shut down any software resident programs running from your windows (anything in your system tray such as anti-virus etc...) this will free up some system memory.

You may try to increase your virtual memory as it may help.

In your BIOS (hit DEL on boot up to go to the BIOS window) check your video memory aperture size and make sure that it's set to 1/2 of your system memory (e.g. set to 128 M if you have 256 etc...)

Download the latest driver for your video card model

In the video card settings (right click on windows, then properties, advanced, settings) make sure that AA (anti-aliasing) is off. Some cards will offer you different options so go with the ones who will increase performance (you will lose some graphic quality)

In the game option menu, play with the game resolution. Try 1024 X 768 or 800 X 600.

Also disable some of the more graphic extensive options such as shadows etc.... again this will increase performance at the cost of some eye candy.

Hope this helps.
__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 11-27-2003, 10:55 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 11
Default

ok thanks again
FlamingTeddiz is offline  
Old 11-28-2003, 09:45 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I like the Radeon 9600 Pro's, they can play pretty much every game available
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-28-2003, 10:56 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 374
Send a message via AIM to Soloman02
Default

another way to get rid of those programs in the tray(other than uninstalling them) is to go to the system cofiguration utillity. go to run and type msconfig then select startup. and look at the command part, i never touch anything that has .dll files or is related to windows. just stuff like realplayer, AIM, MSN, etc. i just start them up when i want them on and turn em off when i play games.
__________________
Desktop specs:
AMD Athlon XP 2500+@ 200x11 - EPoX 8rda3I - Thermaltake 420watt silent PSU - 2x512MB PNY PC3200(DualChannel) - TT HSF - PNY 5900SE, 128MB DDR, 256-bit - - Toshiba SD-R5002: DVD-RW - NEC DVD-RW - 2 Antec 80mm fans - 1 Delta 92mm fan - 1 Antec 120mm fan- 1 TT 120mm fan - Windows XP Pro - WD special edition 80GB 7200 RPM- Seagate 80GB 7200 RPM 8MB cache - Onboard Sound - Onboard Ethernet

Notebook specs:
ACER Travel Mmate 4000LCi - Intel Pentium M 710 - 15\" XGA TFT - 512MB DDR333 - 40 GB HD - DVD-rom/CD-RW Drive - WLAN 802.11b/g - Winxp Home - Intel Extreme Graphics - Average Battery Life: 4-5 hours - 6.4 lbs
Soloman02 is offline  
Old 11-30-2003, 06:58 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 6
Default

Radeon 9600 or Radeon 9500pro are great buys for your price range. If you want to go nvidia you can find GeForce TI 4600's for alot cheaper, but they are not as good as the other two I mentioned.

www.pricewatch.com
Pygmy is offline  
Old 12-02-2003, 10:42 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 67
Default

Make sure that you defrag your hard drive, too. I prefer Diskeeper , particularly since you can let it run on automatic in the background (set-it-and-forget-it) and not think about it. If your hard drive is heavily fragmented, it can significantly affect performance.
HeddaLora is offline  
Old 12-03-2003, 08:04 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 11
Default

i just reformated all my drives except a video drive which has all my video stuff on it which takes up about 40gb and my data drive with all my information. i reformated the other ones because i just installed windows xp. i installed the game in a clean drive. so i dont think the defragmenting is that big of a problem but i might be wrong.
__________________

FlamingTeddiz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.