How can I install USB Hard drive if I don't have the driver or know the company? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-15-2005, 12:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default How can I install USB Hard drive if I don't have the driver or know the company?

Need to get files off this drive but I don't know who makes it.
__________________

dario03 is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 01:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

it should just find it and install it....what os are you using?
__________________

__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 01:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

Oh yeah, I'm using windows 98se. Funny thing is my friend said he has used this drive on a windows 98 machine without installing it.
dario03 is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 02:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 499
Default

I'm sure Windows has generic USB drivers for ya. Did you try hooking it up yet?
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.democracynow.org\"><img src=\"http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y165/smileygladhands/linkbanner468x60.gif\" border=\"0\"></a>
\"All over the place, from the popular culture to the propaganda system, there is constant pressure to make people feel that they are helpless, that the only role they can have is to ratify decisions and to consume.\" -Noam Chomsky
smileygladhands is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 12:11 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

Yes it sees it but doesn't work.
dario03 is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 01:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 42
Send a message via AIM to GRINGOSTARR
Default

sh!t outta luck. unless you open up the damn thing and look at the chipset on the controller card, and the windows generic isnt working, then your screwed
__________________
My Baby :)


<u>Cooler Master Centrion 5 Case w/ Master Power 520w Smart PSU
AMD AthlonXP 2200+ w/ Zalman CNPS7000B-Cu All Copper Silent CPU Fan.
AOpen AK77-600N w/ VIA KT600 Chipset
1GB of Micron PC2700 DDR Ram Performance Cooled by Thermaltake
ATI Radeon 9800XT (256MB DDR) Overclocked to 438 MHz w/ Thermaltake Heatsink and Fan
40 GB western Digital Hard Drive (5400RPM)
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive (5400RPM)
80 GB Maxtor DiamondMax Hard Drive (7200RPM)
I/O-Magic Internal Dual Layer DVD+RW/+R (16X)
FMI 10/100/1000 NIC (Realtek 8169 Chipset)
Logitech MX518
fUncPad
Saitek Backlit PC Gamer\'s Keyboard
Pics of my rig are <a href=\"http://energizer2.com/pix/06132005\">Here</a>
GRINGOSTARR is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 01:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

Well got it working but I think the dang thing is in NTFS and have win98se
dario03 is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 02:12 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 371
Default

Try this update for 98, supposed to improve USB support

http://www.usbman.com/win98seusbguide.htm
__________________

IAM_7154 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.