How can I get my new Hard Drive to show up? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2006, 03:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7
Question How can I get my new Hard Drive to show up?

Hey, I just put in a new hard drive I got to replace my old one that went out. Ive had a small 20G in there until I was able to get this new one so at the moment Ive got 2 hard drives going.

The new one I got is a WD 250G hard drive. I added it in and when I went to boot everything was fine but I cannot see another drive under 'My Computer'. How can I set it up so I can start useing it?

Thanks in advance.
__________________

Gorgorok is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 03:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7
Default

The hard drive can be found here:
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16822144701
__________________

Gorgorok is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 03:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

you need to run partion magik, or fdisk in dos, or use the install cd that it came with to set it up to be seen in windows. since its not formated windows doesnt know its there.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 03:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7
Default

Alright, when I bought the hard drive it didnt come with any CD's. It just came with the hard drive nothing else. Where can I get that partion magik?
Gorgorok is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 07:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 15
Default

Go to Control Panel > (Classic View) > Administrative Tools > Computer Management > Disk Management (In the tree at left under Storage) > Look for something that's around 250 meg, partition it, and format it (NTFS is suggested). When all is said and done, reboot.

That assumes you have XP

-:-Mitchell
MrFortissimo is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 10:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7
Default

Yup, got it all working now. Thanks for the help
__________________

Gorgorok is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.