How can I find out if my computer has SATA connectors? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-22-2005, 10:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 108
Send a message via AIM to bartthecartoon
Default How can I find out if my computer has SATA connectors?

Is there any way to find out without opening my case? If not, what should I look for when I do open my case?

My PC is a 2005 emachines.
__________________

__________________
-Intel Celeron D Processor 2.93 GHz
-1.25 GB Ram
-80 GB Hard Drive
-5 GB Hard Drive
-CD-ROM Drive
-CD-RW Drive
-External 3.5\" Floppy Drive
-Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2
-Intel Extreme Graphics 2
-Logitech Wingman Force 3D
-Logitech Wingman Rumblepad
bartthecartoon is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 10:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to damasta55r
Default

I assume your motherboard is the 865GV espeically since your model is recent. And the 3rd quarter version of your machine has that. If this is the case, than it should have a sata connector.

http://www.intel.com/design/motherbd/hz/index.htm


eMachines usually have their intel machines with intel motherboards. My brother owns the t5026 and has an intel board.
Roger
__________________

__________________
First got a computer 4 years ago. Windows ME. Got second hand computers with different operating systems from my family members to play around with...

damasta55r-Cnet forum Computing.net techist.com Computerhelpforum.org

ASPIRE ATXB4KLW-AL Antec 400W
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
AMD 3700+ San Diego
Corsair 1GB 2x512
eVGA 6600GT
250GB Hard Drive
Sound Blaster Audigy
Windows XP HOME W/SP2
damasta55r is offline  
Old 07-23-2005, 02:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Good call, damasta55r. IF you want to find out for sure, and dont want to pull a panel off of your case, click the link in my sig to find out what hardware you have, and post back with the model of motherboard that your computer has.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 07-23-2005, 02:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

well if u give us ur model well be able to tell u for sure but it sounds like damasta has a handle on this one damn how do u know that of all things what mobo and emachines uses lol whod a thunk it
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 07-23-2005, 09:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 108
Send a message via AIM to bartthecartoon
Default

It is an Intel motherboard:
Chipset i865/PE/G/i848P
Southbridge 82801EB (ICH5)

Brand Intel Corp
Version BF8610A.15A.0085.P20.0412152353
Date 12/15/05
__________________
-Intel Celeron D Processor 2.93 GHz
-1.25 GB Ram
-80 GB Hard Drive
-5 GB Hard Drive
-CD-ROM Drive
-CD-RW Drive
-External 3.5\" Floppy Drive
-Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2
-Intel Extreme Graphics 2
-Logitech Wingman Force 3D
-Logitech Wingman Rumblepad
bartthecartoon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.