how big of RAM is this? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-27-2005, 10:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default how big of RAM is this?

I just recieved 2 free ram sticks, one of them tells me and the other doesnt

256mb 32x8 ddr333

heres the one i dunno
32x64 ddr333

Is there a way to tell how big the 32x64 is?
__________________

__________________
Quintox is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 11:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 83
Send a message via AIM to mak01
Default

Educated guess: 2 gigs.
__________________

__________________
How much time do we have?

Mobo: Abit AV8
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Video: Leadtek GeForce 6600GT | AGP 8x
RAM: 512MB PC2100 | Single Channel | Plan on upgrading ASAP
Audio: On-board 6 Channel Audio | Yamaha RX-395 Receiver and Athena AS-B1.2 Bookshelf Speakers
HDD: 80GB(74 formatted) 7200RPM
Disc Drives: 16x DVD Drive
2.4x DVD+/-RW / 12x CD-RW Drive
OS: MS Windows XP Pro

http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/type/2/bigmak.png
mak01 is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 11:35 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 529
Send a message via AIM to alecjahn
Default

Heh... no.

I can't remember what that marking is exactly...
Grr.
It doesn't have anything do do with the actual capacity of the RAM though. The only way I guess is to stick it in something and find out.

Unless I'm wrong?
__________________
You're the guy from that hamburger train, right?
alecjahn is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 11:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12
Default

you could put it in a pc and during boot up it will tell you.
aceman118 is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 11:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to Spritz2523
Default

the only way i know of is putting in the slot and looking at the system specs. you could try searching on the internet.
Spritz2523 is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 12:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default Re: how big of RAM is this?

Quote:
Originally posted by Quintox
I just recieved 2 free ram sticks, one of them tells me and the other doesnt

256mb 32x8 ddr333

heres the one i dunno
32x64 ddr333

Is there a way to tell how big the 32x64 is?
Math class time, what is 32x64?

2048, 2 gigs. I bet you read a number wrong however
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 12:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 529
Send a message via AIM to alecjahn
Default

But... I don't think that's what that number means... let me look this up.

[edit]
Ok here we go.

That number is the number of megabits, (not megabytes) of the capacity of the module.


So, it's 2048 megabits.
Well, how many bits are in a byte? You should know this. It's 8.
----
Side not for future knowledge:
b=bits
B=bytes
-----
2048Mb/8Mb = 256MB

The Module is 256MB.
__________________
You're the guy from that hamburger train, right?
alecjahn is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 12:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default

I looked it up, looks like 256mb
__________________
Quintox is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 12:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 529
Send a message via AIM to alecjahn
Default

Damn, I didn't edit fast enough.

[ED]
The numbers represent "the number of the chips multiplied by the capacity of each individual chip", says pcperspective.
__________________
You're the guy from that hamburger train, right?
alecjahn is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 12:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

LOL!!!!!
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.