How is this? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2005, 04:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default How is this?

Abit AG8
Intel Pentium 4 520
pQI DDR400 Turbo/Gunmetal 2x256 DC
Generic 52x CD-ROM Drive
Lite-On 8x DVD-RW
Maxtor 60 GB HDD
Western Digital 80 GB HDD
Powmax Demon 580W PSU
Sky Hawk/Eagle Tech Mini Server Case
Generic Floppy Drive
Leadtek GeForce 6600
Syba IDE Host Adapter
Microsoft Black Multimedia KB

After taking your recommendations on the GPU, I think this will be final. Eventually, I will add a Thermaltake Big Water and a GeForce 6800GT. How is this?
__________________

Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 04:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Nice choice on the processor. Its cheap and fast. Also you can OC to like 3.7ghz with stock cooling. Also your dual channel PC400 setup should take advantage of the 800mhz bus.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 05:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 414
Default

What happend to your AMD rig Megadeth2 are you still gettting it or do you have it already.

Well everything seems to be ok there any ways, but i would really say go for the AMD.

Neosteve
__________________
<center>

<a href=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/inbound.php?user=Neosteve\' title=\'Get Fused!\'>
<img src=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/code/468x60.jpg\' alt=\'\' style=\"border:0;\" /></a>
</center>
neosteve is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 05:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

AMD Rulez
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 05:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

I'm not getting the AMD rig. I've never had any reason to get AMD. I would like to leave it at that. I would be happy if people left more comments...thanks.
Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 05:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Nice, what's the primary purpose for this system?
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 05:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

animation, gaming (not most of the time), folding, the usual enthusiast routine
Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 05:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 414
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Megadeth2
I'm not getting the AMD rig. I've never had any reason to get AMD.
What happend to this poor old thread.
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=38754

Quote:
Ok, this is the last time. I changed my mind on the setup. How is this?
MSI K8N Neo4 Platinum
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ 90nm
Infineon DDR333 2x256 DC
Generic 52x CD-ROM Drive
Lite-On 8x DVD-RW
Maxtor 60 GB HDD
Western Digital 80 GB HDD
Antec Sonata
True Power 380S 380W
Generic Floppy Drive
eVGA GeForce 6200
Come on now Megadeth2 make you G_d dam mind up please.
I say rather get the AMD then the Intel.
Thats my last time i say that.
neosteve is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 05:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

Well I changed it...I can't find a damn 939 PCIe board anywhere...the K8N Neo4 will be available after the 20 of jan can't wait that long
Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 05:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

I think Intel is the better way to go with this system, better multitasking, plus the P4 will be better for animation purposes.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.