hot prescott - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-27-2005, 10:16 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Any Prescott core 70 degrees and lower is considered normal and should not pose a problem. Based on the fact that his load temperatures are slightly over 70, it's safe to say his core is pretty average for a Prescott. I agree that he should go about cooling it down 5-10 degrees at the least, but the Prescott has been built to run fine at those temperatures.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 11:01 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 531
Send a message via AIM to jnev_89
Default

that seems really high... i thought mine was running a bit hot, but i guess not. oced 700mhz to ~3.5ghz i'm at 58c load with a 7700, i bet with stock cooling though it'd be close to yours.
__________________

jnev_89 is offline  
Old 03-28-2005, 01:06 AM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

Its able to run @ those temps, but it shouldn't be. When i first bought mine, plugged in the stock cooler.. i was getting around 46 idle, 57 load. no where near 70, theres definently somethign suss going on. with good cooling and as5, ive reduced mine to 37 idle.. I would suggest you buy a new HSF and invest in some case fans if you dont have any already.
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 03-28-2005, 03:33 AM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Just stick with the stock HSF. It works fine. I even OC'd my prescott from 2.8ghz to 3.8 on the stock HSF and I was getting 46c idle and 61c full load.
When it is at normal speeds i get 35-40c idle and 54 full load
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 03-28-2005, 04:45 AM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

I think low 70's is too hot. I think the reccomended maximum from Intel is 69 degrees. Mine gets to 66 and I think that's too hot. You want better cooling.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 03-28-2005, 07:32 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 348
Send a message via AIM to 20mm
Default

i think i may have found out what is helping heat up, i think it's the psu. the psu is like very very very hot to the touch and the fans in it aren't running at the max, also it's an off brand to. it's a 500 watt so yeah, should i look into a better psu?
20mm is offline  
Old 03-28-2005, 09:32 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 413
Default

Been there and done that with Prescotts, yea that is kinda hot, not really for Idle, but pretty hot for load. I peak at about 65 under load. Prescotts are made to run hotter, and normally arent affected by high temps. you should be fine
algu7344 is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 12:36 AM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 348
Send a message via AIM to 20mm
Default

i stumbled across something strange to me. there are two vcore's, so the cpuz v-core will be vcore1 and the v-core in the ocing utility will be v-core2.

okay so when booting into windows, v-core1 is at 1.32 and v-core2 is at 1.33 with a temp of 52c idle.

in the utility i boost v-core2 up to 1.40 and v-core1 goes down to 1.12 with a temp of 32c idle.

next, i down v-core2 to 1.39 and v-core1 goes up to 1.28 with a temp of 52c idle.

next, i up v-core2 to 1.41 and v-core1 goes up to 1.51 with a temp of 68c idle.

during all of this the fsb is at 200mhz.

i'm so comfused by this, help me.
20mm is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 02:10 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 348
Send a message via AIM to 20mm
Default

does any one have an idea about this? i think i read something on it but it wasn't really clear. i can't google it because i don't know how to put it in.
20mm is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 02:13 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

are you using series 5xx or 6xx?

use the Arctic ALumina compound, and do follow instructions before applying, i'm running mine on stock cooler with alumina @ 38 on idle and 54 at MAX.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.