Horizontal lines on my monitor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-25-2006, 12:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Unhappy Horizontal lines on my monitor

Computer specs
A8N32-SLI-Deluxe
AMD Athlon 64 FX-60
American Megatrends Inc. BIOS v. 1009
2 Corsair MX DDR PC3200 - 1024 MBytes
2 eVGA 7900GTs in SLI Mode - Running 91.28 BETA Drivers
DirectX9.0c
Soundblaster X-FI Extreme Music
Microsoft Windows XP Professional Service Pack 2
2 150GB 10000rpm Western Digital Raptors RAID Striped
Viewsonic VX922 Monitor with packaged driver.


The problem:
This rig is brand new, and runs incredibly smooth for the most part. The thing that is frustrating me the most is the monitor to computer connection. The thing is there are horizontal lines that cover the monitor from top to bottom, they are no more than a pixel in width and are very hard to see, but once you spot them there is no way to avoid them. They are even more noticeable while playing Direct3d games, almost sucks the crispness out of the colors and pictures as you can the lines on most if not all textures.

Things I've done:
Installed a multitude of different Nvidia drivers, checked the cables, checked the monitor on other computers and it runs perfectly fine with no lines. I've also run the monitor on an onboard video card and it gave the same results.

You should know:
This is our 4th monitor that yields the same results on both this computer and our previous. We've gone through multiple Viewsonics and a Samsung. The kicker is our Dell1800FP runs on these rigs just fine with no lines what so ever. Also know this rig is brand new; everything in this baby is fresh outta the box, same with the monitor.

I'd appreciate any input I can get, this problem refuses to go away and it's really killing me.. There is honestly no way to take your focus off the lines or act like they aren't there once you've noticed them. Thank you
__________________

Luke20 is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 12:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Have you tried a different video card on the computer that creates lines on the monitor?

Also, is the computer overheating at all?
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 12:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Default

The computer is not overheating to my knowledge, presently the cards are running at 57 C and I have yet to see the processor itself about 41, I have Gigabyte water cooling on the processor.

On my previous computer we had the problem with an ATI 850XT and an eVGA 7800GT. The problem was only noticed when we bought a new monitor. The dell1800FP for some reason does not have these lines, only the newer ones.
Luke20 is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 12:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 331
Default

What talldude123 said...

And the same thing happened to me and it was my video card dying. And mine was new just like yours. New drivers aren't going to help if it is the video card, but that was a good shot at trying to resolve the issue.

I also got the same results when playing games and it made it worse because playing games puts a heavy load demand on the gpu.


Speaking of heat, check your video card's fan and see if that is working.
GoodNews101 is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 01:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Default

If it was the cards, I would notice the same lines on my Dell1800FP, right?
Luke20 is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 01:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

yes. It's a video card issue then. You've tried the monitor on a different PC, and it worked without the lines correct?

I would recommend buying a cheap $100 card in the meantime, until you can afford a nice video card.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 06:26 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
yes. It's a video card issue then. You've tried the monitor on a different PC, and it worked without the lines correct?

I would recommend buying a cheap $100 card in the meantime, until you can afford a nice video card.
He's already got TWO very nice cards. His best bet is to send the cards back from whence they came, and get two replacements.

Although I have a similar problem to his with my PC, but its just a single line to the left of the monitor screen, and thats been the case with 3 graphics cards, so its the monitor itself.
__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 12:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

It might just be the refresh rate of your screen, or ambient flourescent lighting causing the problem.

Also, do you have you installed the latest Nvidia graphics drivers?

Try lowering or highering the refresh rate of your monitor.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 08:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Hello again, just thought I'd fill you a little more on the situation. I just plugged in my 6 year old 1800FP from Dell and the lines are nowhere to be seen. The monitor has a refresh rate of 25ms, so alas there is ghosting all over the place and it's disgusting me. The thing I'm starting to realize is whenever I plug in a monitor with a 16 or below ms response time the lines are visible, it's either that or anything bigger than 18.1 inches viewable. That makes ZERO sense... But like I've said before I've owned a few monitors now that I've RMA'd or just flat out returned because of the line issue. It can't be the cards if this monitor doesn't have them right? It has to be a conflict with the low response times and the cards/motherboard? I'll be trying another 19inch dell fp with dsub connections here in a little bit and I will inform you of what happens.
__________________

Luke20 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.