home speakers adapter? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-29-2006, 12:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Default home speakers adapter?

hi, this is my first post and I really need some help from people who know computers.


I am getting married in a couple months and we have decided to do the dj-ing ourselves with our computer. we have the playlists all ready to go but want to use our home speakers instead of the computer speakers.



here's the problem:

how do you hook home speakers to a computer? (our home speakers have nothing but speaker wire to connect to)
__________________

nikadazikal is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 01:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

Ive actually done what you are talking about with the home speakers with speaker wire playin the pc. But this was only able to be done because i had computer speaker set with subwoofers and the speakers pluged into the sub woofer with speaker wire(black and red / blue and red). and then the sub woofer pluged into my sound card with the normal plugs for it. i dont know if that helps much but you need something along those lines to make it work.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 02:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Default

thanks very much, that might work......but isn't there some sort of adapter to do this so you could plug in several speakers at once?
nikadazikal is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 03:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

well the subwoofer i had, had connectionrs for 5 speakers on it.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 03:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Default

rock on, thanks a lot...

fiance just bought new computer speakers a few months ago with a new subwoofer. I'll have to check it out.

thanks for your help, I really appreciate it very much.
nikadazikal is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 04:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

If your trying to hook up a speaker with just a wire your not going to get much power out of your computer (that's if you can hook it up). You need a reciever which will boost the strength of the sound by a huge amount, it's also a lot easier.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 05:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by reggie_da_man
If your trying to hook up a speaker with just a wire your not going to get much power out of your computer (that's if you can hook it up). You need a reciever which will boost the strength of the sound by a huge amount, it's also a lot easier.
ok, I am a computer idiot basically. My fiance is the computer guy, but he's working so much overtime I'm trying to do this.....

What type of reciever? is there a certain type? if so what should I ask for?

thank you very much for your advice in advance and please feel free to laugh about my lack of computer skills to all your friends! lol:laughing:
nikadazikal is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 08:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

what do you have powering your home speakers? anything?

what you need is a 1/8" to dual RCA cable. you plug the 1/8" into the output of your soundcard, then plug the RCA's into the input of your stereo receiver. then use the receiver to power your home speakers.

what power rating are your speakers? what impedance (ohms) are they? or better yet, can you link us to them on the web? i'll be able to recommend you specs for a receiver with that info.
__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 09:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

ya all home stereo systems bought as a package come with some sort of reciever, amplifier. it is the thingy that you turn the volume up and donw on, and change the radio station. If that hepls any.

Now on the back of the receiver there are some red and white plugs that say adio inpput or something along those lines. You just plug a "y connector" ( has a red and white plug on one end and a hedphone jack on the other) into the back of the receiver( the red and white side) then youi plug the headphone end into the sound jack in the back of the computer.

the viola you have instant DIY DJ
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 09:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lancec2c30
Now on the back of the receiver there are some red and white plugs that say adio inpput or something along those lines. You just plug a "y connector" ( has a red and white plug on one end and a hedphone jack on the other) into the back of the receiver( the red and white side) then youi plug the headphone end into the sound jack in the back of the computer.
did i not just say that? lol
__________________

__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.