Home or Professional - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-25-2005, 09:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 94
Send a message via Yahoo to ice_snuff
Default Home or Professional

Which one is a better operating system windows xp home or professional?
__________________

ice_snuff is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 09:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

It depends what you wanna do. If you have a dual CPU setup your computer requires professional to utilize both cpus. Also professional has some perks that home does not.

Really it comes down to are you a professional or a home user?
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 09:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 94
Send a message via Yahoo to ice_snuff
Default

yea i guess im gonna mainly use it for the the home

thanks for the help
__________________
Fujitsu-Siemens AmiloD
Pentium 4 @ 3.33 GHZ
1GB DDR SDRAM
128mb 9700 pro

and lyk half an hour of battery :P
(wish it was a powerbook)
ice_snuff is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 09:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Yeah just buy the home version you will save a good amount of money going for the home rather than pro.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 09:41 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

I went with pro.... Seems to work better than home on my system's....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 09:44 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 94
Send a message via Yahoo to ice_snuff
Default

am i allowed to pick which operating system i can have or does each computer come with its own one?
__________________
Fujitsu-Siemens AmiloD
Pentium 4 @ 3.33 GHZ
1GB DDR SDRAM
128mb 9700 pro

and lyk half an hour of battery :P
(wish it was a powerbook)
ice_snuff is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 09:49 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

If you buy a retail computer you will get probably Home. But if you buy a high end workstation you will get pro. You can always go out to the store and buy it yourself and format the computer and put it on.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 10:14 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Lasrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 363
Default

I went with pro. i think mainly for the server capabilitys. Also with Pro, like a few others said, it seems to run a bit better.

I had a link to a site once, cant find the link though, it showed all the files in the Pro and Home, and Home takes up less space then the pro.
__________________
<img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y137/Lasrix/fags.jpg\" >
Lasrix is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 10:22 AM   #9 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

remote desktop is a necessity!
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 10:36 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Lasrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 363
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SHAWN
remote desktop is a necessity!
?how so?
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y137/Lasrix/fags.jpg\" >
Lasrix is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.