Home Networking - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-28-2002, 10:59 PM   #21 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: "Almost Heaven" USA
Posts: 4,866
Send a message via AIM to Dave Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Unhappy

There is a 56k modem card in both pc's. I'm still using one and the other pc is using cable modem.

PC with cable modem:
  • Network Everywhere Fast Ethernet Adapter (NC100)
  • 3 Com Etherlink 10/100 PCI
Other PC
  • PCI Fast Ethernet DEC 21143
  • Microsoft Virtual Network Adapter
The Cat5 cable has definitely larger connections than the phone line connections.

Due to some advice from an installer (from cable company), I have on hand a Linksys USB 4 Port Hub and a Linksys 10/100 Ethernet Network Card (compatable with cable and dsl) and D-Link DHN-910 Networking cards (I think that is for 10Mb phone connection networking).

Is it okay to mix and match per se? Or would it be better to remove the cards and buy one of the cable networking systems in a box?

Also, do I need to remove the dial-up modem cards from the pc's?

Thanks for all your help!!!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 313.jpg (38.3 KB, 0 views)
File Type: gif 314.gif (75.5 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg 315.jpg (25.3 KB, 0 views)
__________________

Dave is offline  
Old 03-28-2002, 10:59 PM   #22 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: "Almost Heaven" USA
Posts: 4,866
Send a message via AIM to Dave Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Unhappy

There is a 56k modem card in both pc's. I'm still using one and the other pc is using cable modem.

PC with cable modem:
  • Network Everywhere Fast Ethernet Adapter (NC100)
  • 3 Com Etherlink 10/100 PCI
Other PC
  • PCI Fast Ethernet DEC 21143
  • Microsoft Virtual Network Adapter
The Cat5 cable has definitely larger connections than the phone line connections.

Due to some advice from an installer (from cable company), I have on hand a Linksys USB 4 Port Hub and a Linksys 10/100 Ethernet Network Card (compatable with cable and dsl) and D-Link DHN-910 Networking cards (I think that is for 10Mb phone connection networking).

Is it okay to mix and match per se? Or would it be better to remove the cards and buy one of the cable networking systems in a box?

Also, do I need to remove the dial-up modem cards from the pc's?

Thanks for all your help!!!
__________________

Dave is offline  
Old 03-30-2002, 06:09 AM   #23 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,212
Default

You can use any network card(NIC) and yes the modems can stay in the pc.


i found this on the net. it might help:

--------------------------------------------------
If you want to share an internet connection and do File and Printer Sharing you need 4 things and you already have one.

A Cable Modem ( you have this )- this is what connects you to the internet only. It only allows one computer to be online and so because of that, you will need the next thing on the list.

A Cable/DSL router ( you might have gotten this already )- A Linksys is a common choice. It is used to share an internet connection between two PCs. It gives an INTERNAL IP ADDRESS to you two computers while only having one OUTSIDE IP ADDRESS which is viewable by the outside world. The router also acts as a firewall so that people cannot hack into your PCs unless they are damn good and know things that I do not know. Here is a picture of a Linksys router:

The next two things are two NIC cards: These install in ports on your computer and do not necesarily replace a modem. They have larger connecting plugs than that of a modem and use RJ-45 connectors as stated earlier.

The last is a HUB or a Switch ( preferably a Switch )- This goes from the CABLE/DSL Router to the NIC cards. It allows the computers to be connected together. This can be replaces if you get a multiple port CABLE/DSL ROUTER.

So the basic picture of your network would be like this....



---------------------------------------------
cheers
Chopper is offline  
Old 03-30-2002, 06:09 AM   #24 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,212
Default

You can use any network card(NIC) and yes the modems can stay in the pc.


i found this on the net. it might help:

--------------------------------------------------
If you want to share an internet connection and do File and Printer Sharing you need 4 things and you already have one.

A Cable Modem ( you have this )- this is what connects you to the internet only. It only allows one computer to be online and so because of that, you will need the next thing on the list.

A Cable/DSL router ( you might have gotten this already )- A Linksys is a common choice. It is used to share an internet connection between two PCs. It gives an INTERNAL IP ADDRESS to you two computers while only having one OUTSIDE IP ADDRESS which is viewable by the outside world. The router also acts as a firewall so that people cannot hack into your PCs unless they are damn good and know things that I do not know. Here is a picture of a Linksys router:

The next two things are two NIC cards: These install in ports on your computer and do not necesarily replace a modem. They have larger connecting plugs than that of a modem and use RJ-45 connectors as stated earlier.

The last is a HUB or a Switch ( preferably a Switch )- This goes from the CABLE/DSL Router to the NIC cards. It allows the computers to be connected together. This can be replaces if you get a multiple port CABLE/DSL ROUTER.

So the basic picture of your network would be like this....



---------------------------------------------
cheers
Chopper is offline  
Old 03-31-2002, 09:34 PM   #25 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: "Almost Heaven" USA
Posts: 4,866
Send a message via AIM to Dave Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Thumbs up

Wow! Thanks a lot! I think I might be able to follow that.

Ok, when I get that all hooked up, I'll be back to make sure I go through the proper procedure to get it all working.

Quote:
I hate to differ on this m8 but cable modem will not work with a hub ( at least this is what i have found )
&
Quote:
Just cheecked and TopLoader is rignt "cable modem will not work with a hub"
Will this set-up allow the use of the hub? Or does it require a hub? I realize that there needs to be someway to split the cable if it doesn't go in & out one pc.
Attached Images
File Type: png 373.png (21.2 KB, 0 views)
Dave is offline  
Old 03-31-2002, 09:34 PM   #26 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: "Almost Heaven" USA
Posts: 4,866
Send a message via AIM to Dave Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Thumbs up

Wow! Thanks a lot! I think I might be able to follow that.

Ok, when I get that all hooked up, I'll be back to make sure I go through the proper procedure to get it all working.

Quote:
I hate to differ on this m8 but cable modem will not work with a hub ( at least this is what i have found )
&
Quote:
Just cheecked and TopLoader is rignt "cable modem will not work with a hub"
Will this set-up allow the use of the hub? Or does it require a hub? I realize that there needs to be someway to split the cable if it doesn't go in & out one pc.
Dave is offline  
Old 04-14-2002, 12:59 AM   #27 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1
Wink

Was just browsing through and was wondering if you were succesfull at hooking your computers together. I support
these setups at work all the time were CABLE or DSL is connected
to a Linksys with four 10/100 switched ethernet ports. If you
have a Linksys that has only one port you can connect it to another switch but you need to use a crossover cable to do so.
IF your hub or switch has a port that can be switched between MDI and MDI-X then you can use a straight if you switch it to MDI. You can also connect the cable modem or DSL modem directly to a hub or switch and then connect your PC's to the same hub or switch. The problem with that is unless your ISP allows you more than one IP you will not be able to get out without a device that NATS such as the Linksys. I would not recommend this though since that leaves you wide open to an attack from the internet. You also have to make sure you have IP addresses for you PC's to talk to the Linksys.
Netmagus is offline  
Old 04-14-2002, 12:59 AM   #28 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1
Wink

Was just browsing through and was wondering if you were succesfull at hooking your computers together. I support
these setups at work all the time were CABLE or DSL is connected
to a Linksys with four 10/100 switched ethernet ports. If you
have a Linksys that has only one port you can connect it to another switch but you need to use a crossover cable to do so.
IF your hub or switch has a port that can be switched between MDI and MDI-X then you can use a straight if you switch it to MDI. You can also connect the cable modem or DSL modem directly to a hub or switch and then connect your PC's to the same hub or switch. The problem with that is unless your ISP allows you more than one IP you will not be able to get out without a device that NATS such as the Linksys. I would not recommend this though since that leaves you wide open to an attack from the internet. You also have to make sure you have IP addresses for you PC's to talk to the Linksys.
Netmagus is offline  
Old 04-14-2002, 05:59 PM   #29 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: "Almost Heaven" USA
Posts: 4,866
Send a message via AIM to Dave Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Default

No, I haven't networked the 2 pc's as of yet, due to technical difficulties, like not being here, honey-do's, etc.

I have looked in several stores for the equipment. If legal to post, I'm interested in reputable internet sites to order.

I would like to do the set-up like the graphic post. My cable modem hooked to a router (to use the static IP address that I have now, and use a separate IP for each pc), router to hub, and hub to pc's.

If necessary, I'll go to a hub and then to each pc. Are there routers that also act as hubs or splitters for the cable?

My intent is to be able to access the internet with either pc, file and peripheral sharing, and gaming between the 2 pc's.

Thanks for all the help all!
__________________

Dave is offline  
Old 04-14-2002, 05:59 PM   #30 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: "Almost Heaven" USA
Posts: 4,866
Send a message via AIM to Dave Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Default

No, I haven't networked the 2 pc's as of yet, due to technical difficulties, like not being here, honey-do's, etc.

I have looked in several stores for the equipment. If legal to post, I'm interested in reputable internet sites to order.

I would like to do the set-up like the graphic post. My cable modem hooked to a router (to use the static IP address that I have now, and use a separate IP for each pc), router to hub, and hub to pc's.

If necessary, I'll go to a hub and then to each pc. Are there routers that also act as hubs or splitters for the cable?

My intent is to be able to access the internet with either pc, file and peripheral sharing, and gaming between the 2 pc's.

Thanks for all the help all!
Dave is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.