Home Networking - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread

Old 03-16-2002, 01:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie

Send a message via AIM to Dave Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Default Home Networking

I'm not sure this is the right spot for this, but........ I guess you can move it if not.

I have two pc's in my house, (poor guy), and I would like to have them networked. They were networked when they were on dial-up modem. Now one pc is on cable modem and the previous networking does not work.

I was told that there is a totally different means to network the two when one is on cable. Please bear with me because I'm still a newbie on this stuff.

Here's what I would like to do with these two:
  • File sharing
  • Printer sharing
  • Scanner sharing
  • Both online (internet)
  • Game playing
Help? My question includes info about cards, cable, hub, etc. Thanks for any help and keep the techno lingo to minimum for hardward challenged individual.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 42.jpg (14.6 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg 43.jpg (37.4 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg 44.jpg (34.4 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg 45.jpg (28.6 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg 46.jpg (11.8 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg 47.jpg (23.1 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg 48.jpg (18.3 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg 49.jpg (21.2 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg 50.jpg (41.3 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg 51.jpg (14.9 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg 52.jpg (45.7 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg 53.jpg (15.4 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg 54.jpg (23.3 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg 55.jpg (19.7 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg 56.jpg (19.0 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg 60.jpg (3.3 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg 61.jpg (28.2 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg 62.jpg (27.0 KB, 0 views)

Old 03-16-2002, 01:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie

Default Home Networking

I'm not sure this is the right spot for this, but........ I guess you can move it if not.