Home Built PC BLUE SCREEN OF DEATH - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-12-2003, 05:08 PM   #11 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

BSOD's are the "Blue Screen Of Death" When Windows crashes. If I understand ya the Dual Channel you refer to is the DIMMs? Which are "Dual-In-Line Memory Modules" which can be installed singly instead of SIMM's which have to be installed in matching pairs.
__________________

__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 09-16-2003, 08:45 PM   #12 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

Did ya fix it Kered???
__________________

__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 09-17-2003, 12:13 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default

not all SIMMs have to installed in pairs, only if the SIMM has a 32-bit data path and the MOBO has a 64-bit data path, then you need both, but some older boards had 32-bit data paths and therefore only needed 1, with dual channel DDR, you have a 128-bit data path and need 2 DIMMs to fill it

as far as the memory issue youre having, i would try and put the memory in slots 0 and 2 (1&3 physically) and see if it works if not you might have a bad stick, try putting the 2nd stick in slot 0 (1st) by itself and see if it boots, if it does then the problem lies in the configuration, if not its the memory, another thing to try would be to put the old vid card in like you siad and try booting then installing the drivers for the new on and rebooting with the new one in, i hope this helps
dethangel is offline  
Old 09-21-2003, 09:50 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7
Default

i have had trouble with RAM many-a-time, bad ram even made win2k install not be able to read the cd properly during the installation
__________________

XeKToReX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.