Are holographic displays the future? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login

Old 04-21-2015, 05:56 PM   #11 (permalink)
-Deactivated-

Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: Are holographic displays the future?

Quote:
Originally Posted by iParanormal View Post
Oculus Rift and Steam VR seem to indicate a shift toward VR before we see holograms, or neural integration
Neural interfaces are 20 to 50 years off in most estimates. Personally, 20 years seems extremely optimistic. But then I am not an expert.

Holographic headsets like Microsofts HoloLens are here now, but with poor FOV. They'll get much, much better in the following 5 years.

VR tech will follow a path similar to that of smartphones. They'll get really good, really quick. The first version releasing later this year will seem extremely cool, but go forwards just 3 years or so and try it again, and it'll be a comparatively poor experience.

Once the resolution gets high enough and the ergonomics are vastly improved, there are many use cases where VR / AR headsets will prove to be more convenient and better than fixed monitors and TVs for consuming content and using PCs. Why have a bulky monitor on your desk when you can envelop your entire vision in as many virtual monitors as you desire or require ?

Old 04-22-2015, 06:12 AM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie

We might aswell all be fat people who sit on are arses and live in VR.. human bodies will be pointless if VR grows... will just put our brains in borgs so why are we trying to stay healthy lol

Old 04-22-2015, 09:07 AM   #13 (permalink)
-Deactivated-

Quote:
Originally Posted by i2D__ View Post
We might aswell all be fat people who sit on are arses and live in VR.. human bodies will be pointless if VR grows... will just put our brains in borgs so why are we trying to stay healthy lol
Lol.