Hmmm? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-22-2005, 10:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 72
Talking Hmmm?

Can I overclock my maxter harddrive to spin faster than 7200? Or can I tell it to shut the hell up when im accessing data?
__________________

__________________
Amd Athlon 64 3500+
Abit \"AN8\" mobo
Geil 1GB(512MBx2) DDR PC-3200
ASPIRE Chameleon 550W psu
Maxtor 200gb
EVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6600GT Pci-e
Sony 52x32x52x16 Combo
XION Black ATX Gaming PC Case
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
SONY SDM-S73/B 17\" Lcd Monitor
Logitech lx-700 cordless keyboard

Relax!! Relax!! Relax!!
coconut2 is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 10:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default

Who the hell titles a thread "Hmmm?"
__________________

Sport1031 is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 10:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default Re: Hmmm?

Quote:
Originally posted by coconut2
Can I overclock my maxter harddrive to spin faster than 7200? Or can I tell it to shut the hell up when im accessing data?
I am sure there's a way to make it spin faster, but it won't work anymore.

You can't tell it to shut up.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 10:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 72
Default

I think my drive is slowing down my system. Would A raptor help Where I would notice the increase in drive performance? For example the first time I open firefox after a restart it will halt for a few secs. After that first time all other attempts will be instant. Hope that makes some sense. And I cant stand that crunching noise it makes when accesing data. My drive is defraged with perfect disk.

Maxtor sucks!!
__________________
Amd Athlon 64 3500+
Abit \"AN8\" mobo
Geil 1GB(512MBx2) DDR PC-3200
ASPIRE Chameleon 550W psu
Maxtor 200gb
EVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6600GT Pci-e
Sony 52x32x52x16 Combo
XION Black ATX Gaming PC Case
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
SONY SDM-S73/B 17\" Lcd Monitor
Logitech lx-700 cordless keyboard

Relax!! Relax!! Relax!!
coconut2 is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 10:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 72
Default

.
__________________
Amd Athlon 64 3500+
Abit \"AN8\" mobo
Geil 1GB(512MBx2) DDR PC-3200
ASPIRE Chameleon 550W psu
Maxtor 200gb
EVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6600GT Pci-e
Sony 52x32x52x16 Combo
XION Black ATX Gaming PC Case
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
SONY SDM-S73/B 17\" Lcd Monitor
Logitech lx-700 cordless keyboard

Relax!! Relax!! Relax!!
coconut2 is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 12:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default

Firefox just takes a few seconds to load. It is one of its little quirks.

What is the buffer size on your HDD? If it's 2MB, upgrading it would be a good idea. If it is 8MB, I wouldn't bother.

Now, if you went to a SATA HDD with at least an 8MB buffer and NCQ, I'd say go for it... and send me one, too.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 01:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 72
Default

Trotter

This is the drive I have now.
http://www2.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16822144317

And its not just firefox its everything.. Im not useing much space about 10 gigs.
__________________
Amd Athlon 64 3500+
Abit \"AN8\" mobo
Geil 1GB(512MBx2) DDR PC-3200
ASPIRE Chameleon 550W psu
Maxtor 200gb
EVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6600GT Pci-e
Sony 52x32x52x16 Combo
XION Black ATX Gaming PC Case
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
SONY SDM-S73/B 17\" Lcd Monitor
Logitech lx-700 cordless keyboard

Relax!! Relax!! Relax!!
coconut2 is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 02:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default

you shouldnt have gotten a maxtor 200gig, cause they have a bad problem. Try sending it back and getting something smaller or something bigger. the problem w/ the 200gig (ata or sata dosent matter) is it has a huge heat problem. my dad has one and he even has a cooler on it and you can still fry eggs on it and it also causes it to crash alot. maxtor isnt bad you just gotta get the right drive cause ive put my 80gig through hell and back and its still chuggin along. BTW your drive is the EXACT same thing my dad has, i recomend getting something smaller or bigger or just use anther company if you want.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 07:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 72
Default

I did a benchmark.

http://img251.echo.cx/my.php?image=hd2vm.png
http://img197.echo.cx/my.php?image=cpu0uc.png
__________________
Amd Athlon 64 3500+
Abit \"AN8\" mobo
Geil 1GB(512MBx2) DDR PC-3200
ASPIRE Chameleon 550W psu
Maxtor 200gb
EVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6600GT Pci-e
Sony 52x32x52x16 Combo
XION Black ATX Gaming PC Case
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
SONY SDM-S73/B 17\" Lcd Monitor
Logitech lx-700 cordless keyboard

Relax!! Relax!! Relax!!
coconut2 is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 12:58 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

The bigger a Maxtor HDD is the louder they get because there still trying to access data at the same rate as smaller drives and the 200 gig ones have more area to look through. But yea i have problems with my Maxtors and load times some reason... Its just SLOW!!!! But i also have a lot of crap loading at startup...
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.