High FPS not needed - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-19-2006, 09:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default High FPS not needed

Odd question struck my mind I'm not the worlds biggest gamer so be it but I do know that NTSC TV format uses 27 FPS and that PAL uses 30 FPS. The human eye can't see over 27 FPS so why do we need video cards that get 80 FPS.
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 05-19-2006, 10:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 245
Default

BTW, your info. is a bit incorrect...the human eye can see up to 60FPS...I guess we use FPS because it's a good unit of measure of the power of a video card
__________________

jdhore1 is offline  
Old 05-19-2006, 10:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

http://amo.net/NT/02-21-01FPS.html
__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 05-20-2006, 12:26 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

actually you are both incorrect. the human eye has shown potential to see well over 200fps. and NTSC i believe is 29.97FPS. television uses motion blur which you can not use in a video game. this helps it appear smoother at a lower frame rate. a game can not use motion blur as it would make calculating positions impossible.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 05-20-2006, 12:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 237
Default

lol firefox got pwned
Tordenskjold is offline  
Old 05-20-2006, 01:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tordenskjold
lol firefox got pwned
Where does Firefox come into it?? (person or browser.)

Also, the free roam at 30fps will feel even more jittery, than just a smooth video in a game.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.