High-end graphics cards - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2005, 01:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Exclamation High-end graphics cards

Quote:
[i]Source: wikipedia.org[i]
The Quadro series of video cards by NVIDIA Corporation is a set of AGP and PCI Express video cards targeted at the professional workstation market. These cards are essentially identical to the company's popular consumer GeForce cards. Unlike those cards, however, the Quadro cards are certified by companies such as Autodesk for use with their workstation applications in fields such as computer-aided design and computer-aided engineering. The Quadro line relatively closely tracks the GeForce line, though some cards, such as the Quadro MVS series, are tuned specifically for 2D applications and have no direct GeForce counterpart. In general, a Quadro card has the same designation as its GeForce counterpart; for instance, a Quadro4 is equivalent to a GeForce 4 Ti series card. This similarity means that GeForce drivers, which are newer and more advanced than the Quadro drivers, can be used to drive Quadro cards. Doing so voids the card's certifications but often results in higher performance and better features.

The certification processes to which the Quadro cards are subject, combined with their targeting at the professional workstation market, make them significantly more expensive than GeForce cards.
Guess it explains why these cards cost more. I also thought that the high end cards have a lower probability of making an error than the gamer cards - at the h/w level. Might or might not be true. Anyone have info on this? Not talking about s/w drivers.
__________________

Chankama is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 01:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

They are really expensive due to the fact that they are more efficent in OpenGL enviroments. I wonder if you can use workstation cards to play Doom 3 on Ultra settings?
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 01:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

i dont think your really could play for Doom3 i may be wrong.
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 02:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by uzi9mm
They are really expensive due to the fact that they are more efficent in OpenGL enviroments.
That doesn't say much man. Why do you think it's expensive "BECAUSE" it's more efficient in OpenGL. Granted, the circuitry might be a little bit more complex, but I don't feel it's sufficient to explain the huge price difference.

Quote:
Originally posted by uzi9mm I wonder if you can use workstation cards to play Doom 3 on Ultra settings?
I would imagine it could .. It should have the proper h/w capabilities. But would prolly need new drivers.
Chankama is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 02:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Well those cards are meant to be used in professional settings. They will be used to make money. So that is why they cost so much.

Well here is some more reasons.

* It is geared for accuracy and performance (in that order).
* Special tools or drivers specific to application (i.e. special Max drivers, or AutoCAD add-ons).
* Level of technical support for professional users much higher.
* The cards are capable of very high resolutions.
* They have enhanced cores, and memory subsystems.

BTW, If they can play doom 3......... 1 word: ownage.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 02:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

LOL very true
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 02:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

They look to be the same as those Wildcat cards, which are built for better precision and accuracy rather than performance. They work well in crap like autocad but they are not for gaming, mostly due to drivers
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.