Hi-Speed USB Host Controller - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2005, 03:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 87
Default Hi-Speed USB Host Controller

Hi, I have a Dell Dimension 8300 , it has 8 USB ports. When I plug in my Sony DSC-150 camera in I get this message,
High speed USB device pluged in to a non hi speed USB hub.

I must add a High Speed USB host controller.

First what is a high speed usb host controller, is that the actual ports themselves................?

Second, this computer is only 1 1/2 years old you would think that all the usb ports would be high speed.

Any thoughts on this......Thanks Dan
__________________

dandivine is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 03:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 327
Default

sounds like its only usb 1.1 and the camera is usb 2.0
__________________

Echo_ is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 03:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

high speed is usb 2.0, and since it's a dell, i wouldn't expect anything above and beyond, try plugging it into rear usb slots, if that doesn't work, you're going to need a pci usb controller, this seems to be a good one:

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...104-216&depa=0
GageMW is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 03:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 106
Default

It is hard to believe that Dell would only put USB 1.1 in that PC right? Not really, considering that they have made millions of that same configuration. A few dollars saved on each machine, that translates into millions of dollars extra profit in the long run.

Mass production has it's drawbacks for the end consumer sometimes

That PC should have some USB 2.0 ports in the back panel though. If not, the USB PCI card listed above is a cheap solution to your problem, and very easy to install.
__________________
<b><a href=\"http://www.switchphase.net\" target=\"_blank\">Computer and I.T. solutions for small business</a></b><br><b><a href=\"http://www.laptoprepairdirect.com\" target=\"_blank\">Laptop Repair Direct</a></b>
switch is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.