hi-density ram causing a problem with older system? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-22-2005, 12:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 78
Default hi-density ram causing a problem with older system?

thanks to all of you who replied to my ram difficulties with my old dell dimension xps T...

some new info has come to light regarding high-density chips with my older system. the specs for the new PC100 ram i purchased appear to be compatible with my system, but is it possible that since they're 256mb sticks that they are too hi-density?

i cannot get them to work, and want to rule out any compatibility issues before i chalk it up to bunk ram.
__________________

glennl is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 01:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 194
Default

To tell if the new modules are high density just count the chips on the 256MB module. If there are only 8 black chips then it is a high density module and you can not use it in your system. It is not supported. If there are 16 black chips on the module then it is a low density module and will work just fine.

Because of the age of the system there is no BIOS update that will fix the density issue.
__________________

__________________
Crucial Performance Lab
http://images.crucial.com/images/v8_...ucial_logo.gif
www.crucial.com
The Memory Experts(SM) at Crucial Technology is now on board to give you straight answers to your memory-related questions.
When responding please provide your full system specs; hardware and software, OS, BIOS, drivers Etc. You can e-mailmemory related questions to cpl@micron.com
CrucialLabs is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 02:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Hey, CrucialLabs... What do you think about Corsair XMS Pro Series DDR400? Good? Bad? Ugly?
HAVOC is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 03:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by CrucialLabs
To tell if the new modules are high density just count the chips on the 256MB module. If there are only 8 black chips then it is a high density module and you can not use it in your system. It is not supported. If there are 16 black chips on the module then it is a low density module and will work just fine.

Because of the age of the system there is no BIOS update that will fix the density issue.
thanks for the info... there's 16 chips, so it should work i guess. when i enter setup mode the computer is recognizing the 256mb chips, but for some reason it's not working beyond that.

however, the information in the auction from which i won these says they're hi-density... :question:
glennl is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 04:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by HAVOC2k5
Hey, CrucialLabs... What do you think about Corsair XMS Pro Series DDR400? Good? Bad? Ugly?
You dont ask someone who works for crucial on advice for a competitors brand of RAM
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.