Hey Friend. Few Questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-20-2005, 11:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
T0t
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 180
Default HEY GUYS. Few Simple Questions

Allright so awhile ago I was experiencing alot of bluescreen errors. Now I sent in my computer for repair and they replaced the motherboard, ram, hardrive, proccesor, and videocard. The technician assured that if I experienced another one of these errors it would be due to a software problem since they replaced most hardware. These errors would happen most often in digital art programs(Adobe Photoshop, Illustrator, and Cinema 4D) and they would also happen often whenever I would run SpyBot S&D. I got rid of Spybot and "backed up" my digital art programs onto a cd. Now, my question is the following: Can software cause bluescreen errors? I thought that bluescreen errors would only occur because of a problem in hardware? I'm not sure wether to re-install the 3 digital art programs that I have in the cd or wether to "reacquire" these programs incase the ones I have backed up on CD are faulty? I find it hard to beleive that all 3 digital art programs could be causing these bluescreens. Not to mention the problems I got whenever I would run SpyBot S&D. I'm just not sure wether to risk installing those 3 digital art programs that I have on cd or to reacquire them.

Also, when I received my computer it would seem as if they reloaded Windows XP Home and used the Service Pack 2 edition. Is Service Pack 2 really all that bad? I've heard of people experiencing problems while using it, but as far as I know thats only when you update from Service Pack 1 to Service Pack 2. Not when Service Pack 2 comes preloaded instead of updating from Service Pack 1.

Haha ALSO, for some reason the Windows Firewall was automatically turned on. I'm guessing it's because I'm using Service Pack 2. I'm simply wondering if the firewall is any good? I already have Ad-Aware, AVG Antivirus by Grisoft, and Webroot Spy-Sweeper installed. If it's a good firewall and won't interfere or anything then I'll just leave it on. I'm also wondering if itll affect my speed when downloading, playing an online game, etc.

Thanks for all the help guys, much appreciated.
__________________

T0t is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 12:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Yes, software can cause the BSOD. Drivers, and Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 2 (loooooong time ago) cause BSODs for me.
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 12:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
T0t
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 180
Default

I see. Thanks man. I posted quite a few questions. Anything is appreciated suggestions, commments, opinions, etc.
T0t is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 01:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 80
Default

Well many of these questions might not be answered properly without knowing about the hardware of your computer and yes the blue screen errors can be caused by softwares.
And service pack 2 has no such problems that i know of. i have been using it since it was released and i had no such problem.
And windows firewall is good enough but if you have installed an antivirus which has a firewall in it then i would suggest to turn off one of the firewalls. I dont see any difference of speed on my pc using windows firewall.
As far as i see you have too much crap antivirus kind of softwares on your pc. I think you r getting all these problems cauz your system is overloaded.
__________________
P5AD2-E-Premium
Intel 3.0 ghz 640j
Leadtek 6600gt extreme PCI-E
corsair 5400 (2 * 512)
bZerk vigor 500w
3R 202 case
Logitech z-680 5.1 speakers
Creative XFI external sound card
softhunder is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 01:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

geez what didn't they replace? seriously it might help
Nitestick is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 02:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
T0t
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 180
Default

Oh, sorry about that. I'll post up my specs. As for the system overload comment, well it's only 3 antivirus programs. 2 spyware programs and an antivirus. As far as I know none of those programs come with a firewall included. As stated I know I posted quite a few questions, but I'm in serious need of help.

SPECS:
AMD Athlong 64 3200+
2 case sleeve fans 8x8
Abit Kv8-Pro VIA KT-800
512 MB Kingston 400mhz DDR Ram
Maxtor 160gb 7200rpm (8mb SATA-150) HD
Sony 16x dvd
NEC DVDRW +/- 8x
600 watt subwoofer + speakers
1.44mb floppy
Multimedia Keyboard
Optical Mouse
Thermal Meter
6 in 1 card reader
Blue Bold Cathode neon light
Windows XP HOME
Orion 420Watt psu
ATI Radeon 9800 PRO
Nec 17' LCD Display
T0t is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 11:24 AM   #7 (permalink)
T0t
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 180
Default

Comeon guys, anyone? I'd really appreciate any kind of help offered. I found out on another forum that Service Pack 2 blocks alot of ports needed for online gaming(Counter Strike, Day Of Defeat, etc.) and many ports for P2P programs. Is there any truth to this? If so, is there a way to get around this issue?
T0t is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 11:54 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

No offense but you got a bit screwed over if they replaecd everything.

The most likely issue, your power supply was not even replaced. You have a very cheap power supply. Not meant for a hardcore gaming PC like yours.

SP2 is a great idea to have. To make sure it wont interfere with gaming or p2p programs, all you have to do is turn off the windows firewall in control panel.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 12:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
T0t
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 180
Default

They said they couldnt find an error, so they replaced almost everything just to be sure. So SP2 wont interfere with any games like Counterstrike or Day Of Defeat? It also wont interfere with P2P programs as long as I turn off the firewall?If so, how do I turn it off?

Oh, and also I've never seen any articles on my power supply. I dont think it's all that well known

The main issue is that they told me that if blue screens would happen again it would be due to software not hardware since they replaced most of it. So Im not sure wether to risk installing my old digital art programs that I had on cd or to just reacquire new ones. Up to now I havent had another one of these blue screens. Of course Ive only had the computer for 2 days. Even though this is my main concern I appreciate any feedback on any other of the questions Ive stated. Thanks!
T0t is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 01:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

I told you
Start > Control Panel > Windows Firewall

If your power supply cannot supply enough power, you will get such symptoms as STOP ERRORS, Blue Screen of DEATH, Black Screen and Random reboots.

I know about Orion power supply's, their one of the cheaper brands. I got an Orion 350 under my couch. I think I paid 9.99 for it many years ago
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.