Here's your first glimpse at the PPU card. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-06-2005, 02:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default Here's your first glimpse at the PPU card.

ASUS & BFG will be the first out of the box to put the PPU cards on the market.
Consumer card:


Reference Card:


Also i was reading in CPU magazine that ASUS is also developing a motherboard with the Ageia Physx PPU built into the board.
I haven't been able to find any images of that yet... may-be soon.
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 03:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I'm a bit slow, is that a graphics card, that doesn't have any DVI/VGA outputs?
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 03:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default

Is this card going to be PCI-E or just plain PCI?

becuase my mothernoard only has 1 PCI-e and thas been uses.
__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 03:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 274
Send a message via ICQ to smartech
Default

It looks like some kind of CPU extension module (?!) for me. But I also have no idea what it really is, so tell us.



Edit:

WOW, it is actually a Physics Processing Unit, I heard once of this being in deep development, nice to hear it's already out!

Here I found an article about it: http://arstechnica.com/news.ars/post/20050308-4682.html
__________________
smartech is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 03:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Looks like on the second card, it has a PCI X1 slot. Shame if anyone who has SLI (probally the mine buyers) wouldn't be able to take advantageof it.

Anyway, it looks good, and will help for games like HL2 which is very cpu demanding. Probally will be expensive though.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 03:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

I'm interested in knowing if you can overclock these
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 03:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

I think its an extra. you don't need it right? Works with a graphics card? or by itself?
Ste is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 04:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gaara
I'm interested in knowing if you can overclock these
Where their is a clock their is a way
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 04:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
I think its an extra. you don't need it right? Works with a graphics card? or by itself?
Yeah, it pretty much works to remove load from the GPU/CPU and deals specifically with physics calculations
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 04:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

http://www.airtightgames.com/currentproject.html
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.