Help w/ Dell desktop - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-28-2003, 03:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1
Default Help w/ Dell desktop

i need help choosing a desktop pc. would the pc listed below, a dell dimension 8300 be a good deal for $1350. same options and monitor as below. or which would you recommend .
thanks
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...tem=3055255154
__________________

72297 is offline  
Old 10-28-2003, 03:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 354
Default

Too much! And I'm not a fan of Dell.
__________________

__________________
<font face=\"arial\" color=\"#414D6A\" size=\"1\">PC SPECS:</font>
<font face=\"arial\" size=\"1\">
AMD Bartion 2500+ 1800Mhz
ASUS A7V8X-X
PC2100 256Mb DDRAM x 2
LG 52x24x52 CD
Seagate 80Gb 7200rpm 2Mb
ATI Radeon 9550 256Mb 8x
Intergrated PCI sound
17\" Samsung LCD 173s
</font>
Ken Masters is offline  
Old 10-28-2003, 03:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Well, I would much rather build my own. That's a little too much $$$ for me BUT......

According to Dell, this is an excellent price considering that you can't buy the same system from them for less than $2,000.

Is 24 hour support an issue? If not, than I would try looking at PCs from TigerDirect.com. Although their prices have been on a slight rise in the past couple years, they are still honest prices.

But as for the Dell system above, excellent price.

-Michael
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 10-28-2003, 04:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 127
Default

I agree with previous posts. There is one thing you should be extra carefull with when ordering from dell. They charge you (at least in Europe) huge amounts of money for upgrades.

What I mean is that if you for instance want 1024mb instead of 512mb of RAM DON'T buy it from dell! They sometimes charge you more than twice as much as other retailers.
fiezk is offline  
Old 10-28-2003, 04:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 753
Send a message via ICQ to Lostman Send a message via AIM to Lostman Send a message via Yahoo to Lostman
Default

Don't waste your money. I can tell you that if it's ebay'd then there is NO tech support. And Dells are not easy to fix. They don't always use name brand equipment.

Go with a tigerdirect rig. You'll get a killer rig for less money. And you'll have a good company backing you up.
__________________


www.lostman.us
Lostman is offline  
Old 10-28-2003, 04:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 620
Default

http://www.atop.ca is a good company to order from, or build a system... if you live in Canada. That's where I order a lot of my 'puter stuff from.

Reasonable Canadian Prices.
__________________

CPU - P4 2.4C, 800FSB W/HT - CONSERVATIVELY OC\'ED
MOBO - GIGABYTE GA-8KNXP 2.0 875P CHIPSET/DUAL BIOS VER. FE
RAM - 1GB (2X512) OCZ PC3200 REV 2, 400MHZ 2-3-3 6
VID CARD - ASUS RADEON 9600XT 128MB W/VIVO
FLOPPY - SAMSUNG 1.44M
HDD - MAXTOR 120GB 7200RPM ATA133 EIDE W/8MB BUFFER
DVD - LG GDR8162B 16X IDE DVD ROM
PSU - ENERMAX EG465P-VE FC 460 WATT
VANTEC VP4-C7040 AEROFLOW HS/FAN
5 X VANTEC STEALTH 80MM CASE FANS
Bleep is offline  
Old 10-28-2003, 07:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 424
Send a message via AIM to Erik Send a message via Yahoo to Erik
Default

you could probably build this same computer for under 900 dollars easy...
Erik is offline  
Old 10-28-2003, 10:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

The point is mute? .... or moot?
LOL....sorry, so anyway....good price but none the less, most of the posts steer away from Dell. Get a PC from TigerDirect.com.

-Michael
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 10-28-2003, 11:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 934
Default

dvd burner = waste of money.

dell - waste of money.

custom comps,
i gaurentee u if u buy a dell, theres little upgrade u can do.

anyways, the choice is yours.

id go custom and build a computer based on what i wish to do with it.
__________________
<font face=arial><h1>spfdz - NEVER FORGET</h1></font>
spfd is offline  
Old 10-29-2003, 04:11 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

72297 i agree that dell is crap and why does dell use the exact same case for every one of their models? , but in this case i would have to say you got a fantastic deal.

it comes with a 18inch lcd monitor and the specs are good. btw, spfd dvd burners are a waste of money? no my friend, they are not. they have many good uses including all the obvious ones
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.