Help with video card - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-01-2005, 10:03 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 71
Default

Well the ati 9800 pro has a cooler master vga cooler.
__________________

Abercrombie is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 10:20 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 487
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Abercrombie
Well the ati 9800 pro has a cooler master vga cooler.
It's most likely the PSU then from my experience.
__________________

hu_xu is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 01:33 AM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 71
Default

Well he said he tried it with a 350watt PSU and it did it then he tried it with a 350watt enermax whisper and it still didnt work.
Abercrombie is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 11:59 AM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 487
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Abercrombie
Well he said he tried it with a 350watt PSU and it did it then he tried it with a 350watt enermax whisper and it still didnt work.
Ask him if he can to try it on a PSU >400W. Also ask him to try another GPU in his PC and see if that GPU shows symptoms.

When you said you shipped out the GPU I took as you probably had it in your PC before. But I might be wrong. Is this card brand new? Never been used before shipment? If so it could simply be a defective GPU. For example, if he put another GPU in that PC and it works fine and if he puts the 9800 into another PC and symptoms still show up then RMA it if it is still under warranty.
hu_xu is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 02:20 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 71
Default

I was using it in my computer. And hes useing his other card it he says it works jsut fine.Is the warranty still good if I changed the heatsink?
Abercrombie is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 02:37 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 496
Default

Heyyo,

Sry, warranty's invalid now man cause it's not in its original configuration. Most warranties don't even let you tamper with anything. Main example is HD's, if you break the sticker seal warranty's gone. Like that.

Anywho, if the other psu diddn't cause the error? he probably has a crappy PSU in there right now. Use that enermax whisper one then. There's lots of crappy PSU's out there, if it's not a good brand you have in your comp? then you're taking a risk. In his case the risk failed him. In my case I'm lucking out.
__________________
Later-A-Much, and LONG LIVE THE D!
æ ThE_MarÐ
ThE_MarD is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 07:39 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 487
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Abercrombie
I was using it in my computer. And hes useing his other card it he says it works jsut fine.Is the warranty still good if I changed the heatsink?
Nope that voids the warranty. I have also heard that using a 9800 Pro with a PSU lower than 300W (lower than requirement) voids the warranty. I have a 9800 Pro AIW myself.

Let me ask you another question. How did your friend install the drivers? Was the GPU inside his PC before the 9800 Pro an ATI GPU? If it was an Nvidia GPU did he go through the necessary steps of removing ALL traces of Nvidia drivers (ie. using Driver Cleaner Pro)? Some people recommend a complete reformat of the hard drive which obviously works as well. But like another poster I don't think it is a driver issue. But try different drivers and try a clean install of driver just in case if he hasn't already. But like I said I have seen this before and it usually is a PSU problem. I'm assuming the 9800 Pro worked fine in your PC...what GPU do you have? There is something about amplines or something which I am not knowledgable about but cheap PSUs have weak amplines like < 12v or something like that. The 9800 Pro needs at least 12v to run properly. Enermax is not a bad PSU brand...I prefer Antec but I know somebody who had an Antec and had this issue but he simply replaced it with an Antec PSU 400W, The one he had before was 300W. But 350W should be enough to run the 9800 Pro (I have seen it work in 250W same as 6600GT) and the screen you showed me doesn't indicate that the GPU was stressed out by heavy duty app. I don't know what else to say but good luck.
__________________

hu_xu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.