Help On Sound Card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-14-2004, 09:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5
Default Help On Sound Card

I have a Sound Blaster 2z. How is this card suppose to fit in a Gateway Micro-Tower? Is this a low proile PCI issue?


Thanks,

Brad
__________________

nanobrad is offline  
Old 09-14-2004, 10:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 144
Default

It should fit if you have a vacant PCI slot. But be warned, as soon as you crack that case open, your warranty is void for the computer.
__________________

__________________
R.Y.N.O. (Rip Ya a New One)
Diabolic Minotaur ATX Case
Asus A8V Deluxe MoBo Wifi Edition
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ CPU
2x Corsair 512MB PC3200 DIMM\'s
2x Western Digital 120GB Serial ATA Harddrives in RAID 0
Asus 16x DVD-rom Drive
Pioneer 16x DVD+rw/-rw DL Drive
eVGA Geforce 6800 GT
Aspire 500w PSU
Circa219 is offline  
Old 09-14-2004, 10:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5
Default

Hey thanks...the warranty ran out a few months ago.....

the sound card has trouble sliding into the PCI slot because it hits the side of the PC....can I remove the sides?
nanobrad is offline  
Old 09-14-2004, 05:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

its your PC do whatever it takes to make something work is my motto. Cut that slut like butta and make room....but make sure that the PCI slots are compatible and all that good kind of stuff....unless the computer just wasn't meant to handle a bigger better card....soooo yeah go for it
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-14-2004, 06:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks...I like that reasoning!!!! Got to have the sound card. What tool is good for cutting the case?
nanobrad is offline  
Old 09-14-2004, 06:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Dremel is a case modders best friend Every basic case modder knows that! Unfortunately I don't even have a dremel Waiting for my final package to arrive today to start my case mod and I'm gonna have to use a jigsaw....you might have to do the same if you don't have a dremel.
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-15-2004, 06:07 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5
Default

Dremel it is...by god this card will fit! Thanks bud!
nanobrad is offline  
Old 09-15-2004, 06:21 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

yup...no problem...package arrived! Yay! Gonna lap my SLK-900A tomorrow and then start the major case renovations on the weekend
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-15-2004, 04:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5
Default

Great...I mod mine as soon as this Hurricane blows over
__________________

nanobrad is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.