HELP: Should I upgrade my set-up? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-04-2003, 09:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to illippinno
Default HELP: Should I upgrade my set-up?

hey everyone. i just started getting into building and upgrading computers since i built mine a few months ago. when i first built my computer, it definitely blew me away since it was a step up from my old p II system. anyway, here's what i got right now:


2.4ghz Intel Pentium IV
512mb pc2700
128mb ddr GeForce 4
200gb hard drive
533 fsb

I'm not sure what else I should mention, cuz frankly, I don't know what else matters =] But yeah, it used to run FAST, that is until I installed so many video, audio, photo and game softwares (ie. halo, adobe photoshop, adobe premiere, adobe auditions, etc.) There's really a lot more in my system right now that is probably contributing to my computer being slow. But, any suggestions on what I can do to speed it up more?

My friend told me to add more ram, but I thought 512 was sufficient enough. Would adding 512 mb more ram work? and how much does ram really affect the speed of the computer?

Also, I recently got into looking into new processors with hyper threading. What is that exactly? and how does that contribute to speed?

I really need speed (I guess) because I do a lot of photo and video editing, as well as do audio recordings and play pc games. So yeah, any suggestions?
__________________

illippinno is offline  
Old 11-05-2003, 01:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

double posting?
the Hyperthreading is a feature designed so that the CPU can process more than one piece of data at a time, this makes processing faster.
Adding more RAM won't affect the speed at all, if anything it would actually make it slower.
getting a 3.2GHZ CPU is not too expensive now, they've dropped to about half their price!
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-05-2003, 12:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 247
Default

apokalipse
Adding more RAM won't affect the speed at all, if anything it would actually make it slower.

This is a confusing statement, pleas explain. Does this mean the less ram i have it will make it faster.
__________________
Tech4hire

i am no lazier now than I was forty years ago, but that is because I reached the limit forty years ago. You can\'t go beyond possibility.
- Mark Twain
tech4hire is offline  
Old 11-05-2003, 11:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 185
Default

Tech4hire, Not sure either what he meant by the less ram the faster. For most comps 512 is sufficient, unless you are a serious gamer, then more would be better. Then again if you are running a windows older than xp, then more than 256 is being wasted since prior does not recognize it, unless you are running a nt.

Illippinno, you did not mention this, and I know this may seem stupid, but have you cleaned up the unused files and defraged it?

Also, 200gb hdd seems a bit excessive, do you really need all that space. I use a 30gb on one of my comps and 40 on the other. One comp is more for gaming, while the other is more internet, data crunching... etc.

What you might be better off doing is just build a new comp, and spliting the work load between the two comps. But that is just what I would do.
__________________
dfi nfII ultr infinity/asus p4s800
amd 2500xp m/p4 2.6
ati 9600/ati 9600 pro
512mb pc3200/512mb pc3200
trebor is offline  
Old 11-06-2003, 11:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 247
Default

I agree with trebor, you may want to also check the virtual memory. And uninstall programs you are not using. Also check your Temp internet files. Run disk clean up.
__________________
Tech4hire

i am no lazier now than I was forty years ago, but that is because I reached the limit forty years ago. You can\'t go beyond possibility.
- Mark Twain
tech4hire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.