Help SATA HD first pc bulid going well - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-24-2004, 09:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 75
Default Help SATA HD first pc bulid going well

ok im on my first pc build and i have everything up and running and it looks great... but i have a sata hd and when i go to install win xp it says it doenst recognize a hd anywhere... so then there was this thing i saw about going into a raid controller... so i did that and it shows my hd there with the 160 gb ... but i dont know what to do now to fdisk it or partition it or whatever i have to do so i can intall an os on it... please help...

Thanks, ERic
__________________

__________________
Aspire X-Alien Case(Red)
6 Green LED Fans
Aspire 420W power Supply
AMD Athlon XP Barton 2500+
Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe Mobo
Western Digital 160GB HD (SATA)
Samsung DVD-Rom
Lite-on DVD/RW
Kingmax 512MB DDR4300 PC3500
Ati Radeon 9600XT 128MB
SureShot is offline  
Old 03-25-2004, 02:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 232
Default

If you are installing Windows XP on a system where you only have Serial ATA Drives you might encounter a problem where Windows does not seem to detect your Hard Drive and reports "No mass storage device found" during an installation (this occurs in Windows NT and Windows 2000 as well). This is because there are no SATA HD drivers in Windows XP/2K/NT and you need to load 3rd party drivers (just like with many SCSI drives).

To do this do the following:




First make sure that the drive is actually detected by the SATA controller. You should see something either in BIOS, or on bootup that indicates the drive is detected.

With the Windows XP install disk is in the CD-ROM drive turn on your system and go into the Windows XP installation

Now at the installation screen, which is blue, note very carefully at the bottom of the screen for the text that asks you to press F6. You MUST press F6 and then provide drivers for your SATA drive. These drivers usually come from your manufacturer or motherboard on a floppy disk. Make sure you load up the drivers before you continue!!

Installation should continue as normal now. remember to take out the floppy disk containing the drivers so that Windows XP setup can reboot.
__________________

cas0496 is offline  
Old 03-25-2004, 02:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 75
Default

thanks man its partitioning the hd as we speak... i split it into 2 80 gig ones... and i said install xp on this one and it is partitioning it right now... at about 26% and its 2 am... hehe... i think this is going to be an all nighter


thanks, Eric
__________________
Aspire X-Alien Case(Red)
6 Green LED Fans
Aspire 420W power Supply
AMD Athlon XP Barton 2500+
Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe Mobo
Western Digital 160GB HD (SATA)
Samsung DVD-Rom
Lite-on DVD/RW
Kingmax 512MB DDR4300 PC3500
Ati Radeon 9600XT 128MB
SureShot is offline  
Old 03-25-2004, 05:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

cas0496 that was great advice, i am speechless :surprised . however i am not surprised that SureShot used the 50/50 rule. it's so predictable when people are learning to partition...i still can't figure out why people do that
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 03-25-2004, 05:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 75
Default

what should i have made it into ???

eric
__________________
Aspire X-Alien Case(Red)
6 Green LED Fans
Aspire 420W power Supply
AMD Athlon XP Barton 2500+
Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe Mobo
Western Digital 160GB HD (SATA)
Samsung DVD-Rom
Lite-on DVD/RW
Kingmax 512MB DDR4300 PC3500
Ati Radeon 9600XT 128MB
SureShot is offline  
Old 04-24-2004, 11:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1
Default

What do i do if i my mobo or HDD didnt come with any floppy disks?
I have a WD Raptor HDD.
pbstriker38 is offline  
Old 04-24-2004, 11:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 590
Send a message via AIM to Shrapnill
Default

So pbstriker28, youre experiencing the same issue with a Serial ATA HDD?

Go to your mobo manufacturers website and look for one. If you dont find one (like I didnt) you can contact customer support and have em send you one (have em email you the floppyable exe).
__________________
System specs? Lets just get down to it people:

My penis is bigger than yours.
Shrapnill is offline  
Old 04-25-2004, 02:39 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 389
Default

my sata drivers came on a cd with my mobo is that all rite?or do i have to get a floppy with the drivers on there???
__________________
DAVID_15 is offline  
Old 04-25-2004, 03:49 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

yes that's all right, you just have to give the path on the CDROM (example D:\SATA\) when it asks you for it, you may have to take out the XP CD, put in the driver CD, then when it asks you again put back in XP if you have one CD drive

*edit*
- why was cas0496 banned?
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.