HELP!! Saitek Gamers Keyboard Problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-02-2006, 06:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 35
Default HELP!! Saitek Gamers Keyboard Problems

So earlier today I restart my computer to enter the bios to start some overclocking. My motherboard is an Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe so normally I press delete to enter it. However this time, nothing happens. I restart a few times to check I wasnt pressing the button the wrong time, but still had no luck. I also tried the other buttons you can press in startup i.e. f8 for boot options but nothing worked.

(I remember a few days ago I logged in and it said something about Saitek keyoard drivers being unistalled/installed (cant remember which) although I hadnnt done anything to make this happen, I just ignored this.)

So I got into windows and started trying to fiddle with the Saitek drivers to see if I could reinstall anything to get it to work. I tried to uninstall everything and reinstall but I only ended up installing the human interface drivers. I did something like add new hardware and got the rest of the drivers off from the disc in control panel so I had about 8 relation to the keyboard. However at this point the keyboard stopped responding. I couldnt type anything. Stupidly I restarted thinking it would help and am stuck on the logon page where the only accounts have passwords

What has caused all this with my keyboard and is there anything I can do now apart from get a new keyboard to get past the logon screen?

And also, in general are ps2 keyboards better?

Thanks for any help
__________________

TicTac2 is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 07:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 455
Default

i dont know about your other problem but USB are better than ps/2
__________________

__________________
NZXT Tempest
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
EVGA 9800GT
Corsair Dominator 4GB
Ultra LSP 750W
123Justin is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 04:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

funny thing, I almost got a saitek keyboard today, but went for a G-15 instead.
did you get a driver disk with it?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 05:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 35
Default

ok, for some reason, by plugging it into my laptop, and then plugging it back into my desktop the keyboard works again, but I STILL cant access the bios by pressing 'delete' and on that note I can not do anything with the keyboard when botting up.

As I turn the computer on, the backlight flashes on and then goes off until I get to the log-on screen.

4 days ago I could access the bios fine with this keyboard so I do not know what has happened now. . .

Would a usb>ps2 converter help? What can I do to get it to work?

Thanks
TicTac2 is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 08:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

try using a PS/2 keyboard to get into the BIOS, and see if there's an option to enable "legacy USB"
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-05-2006, 07:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

maybe the wire was lose?
john3 is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 08:40 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by john3
maybe the wire was lose?
no, it's because motherboards by default look for keyoard commands from a PS/2 keyboard, unless legacy USB is enabled
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 07:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

oh i c, so before i put in a USB keyboard, i have to use PS/2 to enable the legacy USB, or do some Mobos come default with legacy enbaled? and if they do. does the DFI Lanparty UT Ultra-D, cuase im getting the saitek.

but how does putting it into his laptop, then using it on his computer again fix it, when no1 actually enabled legacy usb?
john3 is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 09:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I don't think any motherboards have it on by default.

however, you will be able to use a USB keyboard once you get to Windows, since Windows has drivers which will work with any USB keyboard
if you use MS-DOS for whatever reason (flashing a BIOS or something), you will need legacy USB enabled for it though.

if the keyboard has extra features, you'll still be able to use the keyboard with the Windows drivers. but you'll usually need to install the manufacturers drivers to use the extra features.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 10:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

I just keep my old PS/2 keyboard if i have to use the F8 thing. I can get in my BIOS though without switching keyboards though.
__________________

Mr. Switch is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.