help problems after rebuild. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-21-2004, 09:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 6
Default help problems after rebuild.

just bought a gigabyte ga-7vt600 motherboard, amd 3200 xp processor, 400ddr 512 ram and i cant get the damn thing to run right.

first problem the monitor would shut off during boot up. read the manual and figured my ati 2/4x agp card was causing the problem. they manual wants an 8x card. so i went out and bought a new video card. had the same problem and started to think it was just a windows driver problem... i could get it to boot in safe mode, so i went in and removed all the devices from device manager... reboot, and re installed the driver. still freeze after a few minutes. so i pulled a hard driver out of another computer formated it and started from scrach with windows 2000... but i cant even get it to finish the install before it get a stop error.

i've tried 3 different graphics cards, two different ram sticks, and i'm on my second motherboard. from the process of elimination it should be the processor... but its going to be hard to get a new one of those. any ideas?
__________________

blkchevyz is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 09:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 157
Default

Might try to update Graphics drivers or Mobo drivers. Have you tried a different monitor? I've had this problem at work and it was with the refresh rate but I was able to get to windows with no problem.
__________________

__________________
You light\'em we fight\'em
jayhawker01 is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 10:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 6
Default

i cant keep it up long enought to really get any drivers installed.

i read somewhere that some k6 boards had some compatiablity problems with windows 2000... i have a k7 board but who knows.
i'm going to try and re installed 98 and see what happens.
blkchevyz is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 10:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 6
Default

ok it already bombed on me. so it wont take 98 either.
blkchevyz is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 11:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 157
Default

bad board?
__________________
You light\'em we fight\'em
jayhawker01 is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 11:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 157
Default

bad processor maybe.
__________________
You light\'em we fight\'em
jayhawker01 is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 11:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 6
Default

the processor is the only thing i havent tried...
i did that mail order so i'm going to have fun tring to get someone to swap it for a new one.
blkchevyz is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 12:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 6
Default

well i'm just going to go pick up a cheap 2600 processor for now. its going to take forever to get this one exchanged.
blkchevyz is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 02:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 6
Default

works like a champ now.
__________________

blkchevyz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.