help! powering a gpu fan - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-16-2005, 03:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 833
Default help! powering a gpu fan

Well I got my Arctic NV Silencer 6 in the post today... i was so excited, ripped that passive heatsink off my 6600GT pcie and went to install the silencer... only one problem, bloody gigabyte have removed the fan power connecter off my card... so how can I power the new fan ??? at the mo i have wedged it (its a two pin connector) onto two of the pins on the mobo... but i dont know that this is working properly as the cooling doesnt seem great...

any help would be greatly appreciated!
__________________

__________________
hygor is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 03:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 195
Default

3 pin > molex converter, and hook it up directly to the power supply? Dunno for sure.
__________________

__________________
-=Complete!=-

-DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D
-AMD 64 3000 Winnie
-eVga 6600GT (PCIe)
-Mushkin Dual Pack PC3200 (512 X2)
-80gb WD SATA HDD
-Lite-On CD-RW
-Creative Live! Series 5.1 surround sound w/subwoofer
-Fans Galore
CreditSolutions is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 03:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 833
Default

but the gpu fan cooler plug is only a 2 pin
__________________
hygor is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 03:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 195
Default

Maybe you could splice at molex plug into the GPU fan wires. Assuming that it will not overvolt.
__________________
-=Complete!=-

-DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D
-AMD 64 3000 Winnie
-eVga 6600GT (PCIe)
-Mushkin Dual Pack PC3200 (512 X2)
-80gb WD SATA HDD
-Lite-On CD-RW
-Creative Live! Series 5.1 surround sound w/subwoofer
-Fans Galore
CreditSolutions is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 03:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Check to see if it's a 12 volt fan
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 05:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

pretty sure all those little fans are +12v fans, but will only take a small portion of that +12v line. I've actually done what you're doing hygor and just wedged that 2pin on the 3pin slot, just making sure you're infact lining up the ground with the power...I think it was backwards for me fitting it on there.

Splicing the wires onto a 3pin is probably your best bet.

Red = +12v
Black = Ground
Yellow = RPM Detection
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 07:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 833
Default

i copied the same colour wires that my cpu fan lined up with (red middle and black right) it seems to be working... the weird thing is that every time i turn on my pc the temp is lower... the arctic silver paste that came with my new heatsink and fan says that it needs to be run in for 200 hours for optimal cooling... so am i likely to keep getting better temps over time? i am 9C cooler than when i first installed and this is my 3rd reboot!
__________________
hygor is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 06:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 833
Default

Yay... its cooler than ever... and when testing in games it so far hasnt got out of the top 80c range (it hasnt reached 90c yet!!)

I have taken photos and stuff so will post a tutorial and some benchmarks/temps a bit later!
__________________
hygor is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 06:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Cool deal hygor, that's indeed some good news. My eVGA 6600GT (AGP) will hit 80C with stock settings, if I overclock the core to 564 it will hit 87C if it's fairly warm in my room, if I have the window cracked maybe like 82C instead, but it looks like you've really brought them temps down.

Theoretically yes your temps should continue to drop as the AS5 settles, but since you're already getting good temps, just so you don't get disappointed I wouldn't expect anymore huge drops.
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 06:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 833
Default

cool... I am now able with over clocking to get 8417 in 3DMark03, which is an improvement from my previous best of 8099 (not OC'd as much) and 7900 stock
__________________

__________________
hygor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.