Help Plz - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2005, 06:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2
Angry Help Plz

I am having extreme performance difficulties with my ATI x700 pro...
all reviews i read with the x700 state that i should get at least 70fps if not more on HL2.. and yet i sit here with 30 at most in corners at lowest settings... please help...

my specs are:

Intel 2.8ghz Celeron D
512mb PC3200 DDR RAM
80Gig Western Digital
Win XP Home Ed.
420W Pwr Supply
ATI Radeon x700 pro Pci-e
__________________

Theworthless104 is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 06:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

The celeron looks like it could be your bottleneck. Make sure you have the most recent drivers and what not. Is there a molex power connector on the card that you forgot to plug in? You should double check everything
-Joe
__________________

__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 06:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

RAM seems a little slow...perhaps? But what do i know...
__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 06:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Did you install the proper ATI drivers?
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 06:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

You have a celeron. HL2 demands the best systems. Besides that, a x700 is a pretty low-profile card for such a game. I know people that get lagg with a 6800 GT on full settings. So you have to consider your card, vs a 6800 GT. If the 6800 GT have problems, then a x700 should. HL2 and Doom 3 need 512bit video cards. So dont feel bad yo.

I know DJ-CHRIS has been around for such complaints. Its not a problem, just your system cant handle that type of game.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 07:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
RAM seems a little slow...perhaps
Too slow? It's PC3200... a gig of it would help a little, but yeah for the most part, that celeron is killing you. 2.8GHz celeron is really weak
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 07:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2
Default

yeah im looking to buy another 512 and also when i checked the memory speed on my x700 pro they were only at half of what newegg said it should be? what could cause this??
__________________

Theworthless104 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.