Help Please - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-09-2005, 03:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default Help Please

OK what does this mean?
No 80 IDE conducter installed and also Floppy disks fail (40)
__________________

__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 03:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 241
Default

it means you used an older IDE 40 wire IDE cable, and Floppy disk fail means you have a Floppy drive setup in your bios but the system doesn't detect one (floppy cable or power cable might not be plugged in)
__________________

__________________
If all you can see is Darkness Within the Light, You are blind to this world.
http://img25.exs.cx/img25/7382/blade4ls.gifhttp://img222.exs.cx/img222/1324/z1irvineshksvan6uv.gif
ShadowFalls is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 03:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

ok ok I get it now I was just changing my old stuff into my new case and I used older cables by accident and really haven't plugged in my Floppy also what happens is that it would read two drives right but when I try to put the Optical drives up it won't read anything is it because of older IDE cables?
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 05:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

Older ide cables won't make any difference to the optical drives.
Are the optical drives both on the same cable?

When you say it won't read anything - do you mean they're not detected in the bios or that the drive won't read the media?
Samm is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 05:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 241
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GrimReaper23
also what happens is that it would read two drives right but when I try to put the Optical drives up it won't read anything is it because of older IDE cables?
are you trying to boot from cd? is the drive detected?

if the drive isn't detected, ensure the IDE cable is plugged in as well as the power cable, also check your jumper settings to ensure that only one drive on the cable is Master and only one is Slave. If there is only one drive on teh cable, then make sure it is set to Master

if you are trying to boot from cd, enter the bios setup and ensure it is set to boot from cd first
__________________
If all you can see is Darkness Within the Light, You are blind to this world.
http://img25.exs.cx/img25/7382/blade4ls.gifhttp://img222.exs.cx/img222/1324/z1irvineshksvan6uv.gif
ShadowFalls is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 05:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Lasrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 363
Default

i need a floppy drive..

OFF TO THE STORE WE GO!
__________________
<img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y137/Lasrix/fags.jpg\" >
Lasrix is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 06:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

No it won't read the HArdrives or the drives then when I take of the IDE cable to the Drives it reads them perfectly. Is there a downfall for having older IDE cables.
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 06:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Slower transfer rate. The newer 80pin IDEs allow for the ATA133
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 06:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 241
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
Slower transfer rate. The newer 80wire IDEs allow for the ATA133
well actually 80 wire cables are for ATA66/100/133 :P the 40wire ones were for ATA33 and before it which you can use on CD-Rom drives since they are all ATA33
__________________
If all you can see is Darkness Within the Light, You are blind to this world.
http://img25.exs.cx/img25/7382/blade4ls.gifhttp://img222.exs.cx/img222/1324/z1irvineshksvan6uv.gif
ShadowFalls is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 06:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I never said it didn't support 66 or 100, I merely pointed out that it allows for the higher 133 which is optimal and the older IDEs would be...as I said...a slower transfer rate, assuming your drive could even send up to 133 speeds which is generally a hard drive
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.