Help Please!!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-30-2005, 05:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 94
Send a message via Yahoo to ice_snuff
Default Help Please!!!!

what is an S-video TV out ??????????




any help apprieciated
__________________

ice_snuff is offline  
Old 03-30-2005, 06:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 195
Default

It is a high quality video connection. It gives a much better picture then the old RCA or coaxial plugs. It is often used in DVD players and Satellite or digital cable.
__________________

__________________
At $0.02, your analysis is overpriced for its worth.
The_Urge is offline  
Old 03-30-2005, 06:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 94
Send a message via Yahoo to ice_snuff
Default

so on a laptop would it be used for connecting an extra moniter?
__________________
Fujitsu-Siemens AmiloD
Pentium 4 @ 3.33 GHZ
1GB DDR SDRAM
128mb 9700 pro

and lyk half an hour of battery :P
(wish it was a powerbook)
ice_snuff is offline  
Old 03-30-2005, 06:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 286
Default

yes
__________________
foreverxyoung is offline  
Old 03-30-2005, 06:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 94
Send a message via Yahoo to ice_snuff
Default

thanks for all the replys

i just have one more question, how can i watch t.v on my laptop?
__________________
Fujitsu-Siemens AmiloD
Pentium 4 @ 3.33 GHZ
1GB DDR SDRAM
128mb 9700 pro

and lyk half an hour of battery :P
(wish it was a powerbook)
ice_snuff is offline  
Old 03-30-2005, 06:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,291
Default

u cant unless it has a TV card
__________________
Simon is offline  
Old 03-30-2005, 06:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 94
Send a message via Yahoo to ice_snuff
Default

can you buy externel TV card?

and how much do they cost
__________________
Fujitsu-Siemens AmiloD
Pentium 4 @ 3.33 GHZ
1GB DDR SDRAM
128mb 9700 pro

and lyk half an hour of battery :P
(wish it was a powerbook)
ice_snuff is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 11:14 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 195
Default

No you can't, the laptop won't be able to accept the incoming video signal. I do believe that they make laptops with built in tv tuners, and if they do, I'm sure that they cost alot.
__________________
At $0.02, your analysis is overpriced for its worth.
The_Urge is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 12:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Also I think s-video also only does video, to get sound you have to plug in the line out too.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 12:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

What about USB TV tuner cards?
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.