HELP - New computer won't start up - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-11-2005, 11:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 59
Send a message via AIM to mx416
Question HELP - New computer won't start up

I just finished putting together my new computer and it wont start up. When it is plugged in, the light on the bottom of the mouse lights up, so that is getting power, when I press the power button, the cpu, and case fans start to spin for a split second and then stop but the computer never starts.

I checked the wires from the psu and all of them are connect fully and properly. I checked the wires from the power and reset switch, I have those in the right spots. I am using the stock 400W power supply that came with the case right now. I tried disconnecting some other things like second HD, floppy, etc to see if it would start just bare bones stuff, and it still did the same thing.

I'm really frustrated here, can someone offer some advise on what else might be wrong?
__________________

mx416 is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 11:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

When you ask a question like this, please always post the specs of the computer.
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 12:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 417
Default

sounds like a psu problem to me, you obviously connected it up wrong, or either got a atx psu instead of the atx 2.0 (if you have a 'high-end' graphics card.

I may be wrong however.
Xiahou is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 01:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 59
Send a message via AIM to mx416
Default

This is the motherboard and cpu
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128286
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103537

video card
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814133143

case
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811209002

memory
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145439

I forgot to add, I made sure the memory was in the correct slots, since the board have 4 slots for it. It is in teh correct spots
mx416 is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 01:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

I have that exact MoBo, no probs at all w/ mine. Does your PSU use a 24-pin connector?
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 01:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 61
Default

do you hear the hd start at all? Is there any power circulating through the pc?
__________________
eat more means
beans4000 is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 01:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 61
Default

sorry my mistake you said you did... I'm Thinking that there is a conflics with your PSU. You may need open the case and pull out everything and see where your problem lies by putting in one peice at a time and see if you get a full power cycle. I'd start by pulling out video, memory, NIC, uplugging cd roms etc just power, your floppy and a hard drive and see what you get
__________________
eat more means
beans4000 is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 01:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 61
Default

damn i must be tired.... I need to read. sorry freind
__________________
eat more means
beans4000 is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 01:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 59
Send a message via AIM to mx416
Default

How do I know if it uses a 24 pin connector? There is a big plug with 20 wires going in and then a 4 prong one for the cpu. Both connectors fit perfect, they match up with the board just fine. The hard drives do not attempt to start
mx416 is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 01:39 AM   #10 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 59
Send a message via AIM to mx416
Default

well problem solved. I tried the take everything apart and put it back together method and it works!!!!!!!!!!! now im in the process of installing all my programs
__________________

mx416 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.