Help! New computer not POSTing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2005, 02:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3
Default Help! New computer not POSTing

First off this system build includes:

Foxconn Socket 939 NVIDIA NForce4 Ultra ATX AMD Motherboard
Athlon 64 3000+ processor
ASPIRE X-Dreamer II Steel ATX Mid-Tower
2 GB of dual channel Geil Memory (2x1GB)
Samsung Black IDE DVD burner

(The rest is irrelevant to my problem)

Okay, heres the deal. I put this computer together as a first build and once i got it all done (i used a grounding bracelet) i plug in the computer all the lights light up and fans are roaring (every one of them, vid card, cpu fan, p/s, every one of em) but after the boot nothing at all happens. There is not one beep indicated POST was performed and there is no visual display on my monitor (switched out monitors, same thing) from there i wonder if POST really wasnt doing anything so i took out all my memory (looking for the 3 beeps) and still nothing. I am getting no processing of any kind nor POST or anything, all i am getting is power. Do you think this is my motherboard? my cpu? perhaps my p/s despite the fans/lights?? I would really appreciate this as I am pressed for time in my RMA's and need to isolate the problems without creating new ones!!

Also, my DVD burner powers up only WITHOUT THE IDE CABLE attached. When I plug in the IDE Cable the drive no longer responds to my command, perhaps a BIOS/CMOS config? or jumpers..?

BTW, this computer has never booted, not once. Thank you so much! I am desperate!!!
__________________

Lifter0569 is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 02:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

1.) try using one stick of ram, see what happens
2.) did you plug EVERYTHING in? the 4 pin molex too?
3.) does your gfx card require power, if so, did you plug power into that?
4.) google and download memtest86+, put on floppy or cd and boot from it and run the test and see what happens
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 02:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by diabloII
1.) try using one stick of ram, see what happens
2.) did you plug EVERYTHING in? the 4 pin molex too?
3.) does your gfx card require power, if so, did you plug power into that?
4.) google and download memtest86+, put on floppy or cd and boot from it and run the test and see what happens

and how exactly would he run memtest when it wont even post. Also if his card required a AUX power source, than he would still get a post but his screen would not work. But it still will post.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 02:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3
Default

FYI, I did indeed plug in the 4 pin power plug into the AUX PEX connector (because my window light & fan wouldnt work if i didnt). I'm wondering if perhaps:
1. My motherboard is shorted out on the case
2. Motherboard is fried.
3. CPU fried
4. P/S isnt powering correctly despite fan/lights working

Any other suggestions?
Lifter0569 is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 03:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

try using one stick of ram and unplug everything that's not needed; case fans, cd drive, etc.
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 03:31 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

If nothing works, reseat the CPU, and take the MOBO out and put it back in trying to keep it from grounding on the case -.-
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 04:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Probably something is not seated right... Like what other people have said above.
You mobo is not fried since your PSU did start.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 04:10 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

try reseating everything from start
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 11:35 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Okay I'm going to try all of that, but do you guys think it is possible for the mobo to be able to power things and lose its ability to process data (to POST), or should i be more concerned about the CPU?
Lifter0569 is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 12:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Your mobo is probably not busted. Because if it was busted it would not start the power supply. And to start the power supply it need to complete the "circuit" on the motherboard.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.