Help needed. Building my first computer..

Status
Not open for further replies.

mcmicx

Beta member
It is my first time trying to build a computer and I don't know what parts I need..
I think I will spend about 1500-1600.. and it will probably used for gaming.
If you could list the parts that will equal to be about 1500-1600 that will be great..
for case I was thinking about p160 or superlanboy..
Memory card.. probably corsair value select..
Power supply.. antec true 550 or enermax 600
hard drive.. I really don't know.. I need at least more than 80gig.. don't need 2nd hard drive.
Sound card... no idea
Video card.. Geforce 6800ultra or X800 XT
mother board.. thinking to get one of the asus product but don't know which one.
Cpu... don't know what should i get.. was thinking about 3700+
speakers.. no idea..
Cd rom / Dvd Rom ... No idea..
network card.. no idea..
If there is anything else I need please tell me.. and if there is other stuff that you recommend.. please tell me that also. I probably won't buy parts until few month later.

The stuff I listed here might be over 1500-1600 .. if u can adjust this.. thank you..

Don't get an ASUS board for the love of god...get an Abit AV8-3rd eye or MSI Neo2-Platinum....just make sure you get socket 939 and that 3700+ will be perfect. You really won't need a soundcard with either of those boards....get the eVGA 6800GT and overclock it to ultra speeds. it'll require a lot less power and heat...plus eVGA puts the same heavy duty heatsink on ALL the cards so you'll get the 6800GT with the Ultras heatsink so it'll be easy to overclock it via softmod...

You won't need a network card...the MSI Neo2-Platinum has 2 onboard lan cards...