Help with multi monitors? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-17-2011, 09:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: scotland
Posts: 4
Default Help with multi monitors?

Hi everyone, I hope you can help me out with this.

I'm trying to add 4 monitors to my PC (on top of the existing one) I have purchased a new graphics card nvidia geforce 8400 gs and have 2 montors running on this and I have a 3rd monitor running on a usb to vga adaptor.

my computer has one PCI express port which has the new graphics card in and 1 PCI (not express) port which is empty at the moment. What I want to know is can I buy a PCI card and fit it in this port to run the last two monitors? I have found a NVIDIA PCI card which I believe will fit (its a NVIDIA Geforce 9300 GS).
[h=1][/h]The 4 monitors I am trying to add are all 15 inch and they are only for viewing charts and spreadsheets on. I dont need it for gaming or viewing video etc.

So the question is can i buy this second card and be able run both cards at once?

Or could/should I buy 2 more USB to VGA adaptors?

Or neither?

My PC is a dell studio 540 bought about 2 years ago, 32-bit 4GB.

Thanks for the help.
__________________

highlander2 is offline  
Old 09-17-2011, 02:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Help with multi monitors?

Good question.

Being a dell it probably has a small power supply, so putting a 2nd gpu in it may not work due to not enough power.

Which adapters are you using? The evga one?

You could try the 9300, But I cant find any info on it on the net. Does it only have 1output?

Welcome to the forum.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-17-2011, 03:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: scotland
Posts: 4
Default Re: Help with multi monitors?

Hi patonb thanks for the reply.

I should have stated that I am basically computer illiterate so may not understand what people say!

You ask which adapters I'm using Im afraid I don't know what you are referring to, is it the USB to VGA adapter?

I found the 9300 on amazon, I wont post a link in case im not meant to but ill try and attach a screen shot. I hope you can see it, I believe it will fit in the PCI slot, but not sure if it will work....

highlander2 is offline  
Old 09-17-2011, 05:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Help with multi monitors?

You can post link if youre able too. And ys the usb to video adapter.

That card can do 2 monitor. But whats the price? I couldnt find it on amazon, duh... Youre uk not com...

Nope still csan't find it.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-17-2011, 05:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: scotland
Posts: 4
Default

Here it is- Nvidia Geforce 9300GS Videocard * 512MB DDR2 memory *: Amazon.co.uk: ElectronicsAnd here is the link to the adaptor i bought on ebay-

USB 2.0 to VGA Adapter Cable For Extra Monitor Screen | eBay

post came out wrong could not find out how to delete- ignore!

I also found this on dells community-5th post from the top the guy says that he contacted dell and said that the dell 540 studio cannot run 2 graphics cards.

Dual Video Cards in Studio 540 - Desktop Video Forum - Desktop - Dell Community
highlander2 is offline  
Old 09-17-2011, 05:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Help with multi monitors?

Do not double post. If you have something to add, use the edit button.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 09-17-2011, 06:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Help with multi monitors?

@highlander2: I have merged the posts. If you haven't done so already, please read the rules.
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 09-17-2011, 06:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: scotland
Posts: 4
Default Re: Help with multi monitors?

Hey I'm sorry I went to edit the post and some way got muddled up and made a new post by mistake, could not see how to delete it.......
highlander2 is offline  
Old 09-17-2011, 08:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Help with multi monitors?

You can't delete your own posts.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
7 Aero theme won't work with multi-GPU/monitors El_Roberto Microsoft Windows and Software 3 07-30-2010 09:51 PM
Multi-monitors Warrior49 System Upgrades 16 04-14-2008 08:00 PM
multi monitors taintedplay New Systems | Building and Buying 6 02-18-2008 10:13 PM
Multi View (2 monitors) ???? Jauc Computer Audio and Multimedia 9 03-28-2005 08:48 AM
Multi View (2 monitors) ???? how Jauc Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 03-27-2005 07:44 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.