Help with Motherboard Selection - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-16-2004, 06:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2
Default Help with Motherboard Selection

I'm new on this forum (and to building pc's for that matter), and need some advice. The following are the components that I've picked out so far for my new machine:

P4 - 3.0 w/800fsb
512mb DDR400
80 gig Maxtor HD 8 cache
Sound Blaster 5.1
LiteOn CD-RW
(haven't decided on ATI or Nvidia yet......I'm not a heavy gamer, but I'd like to do a little video editing....recommendations?)

I just basically need to find out what motherboards are not only suited to my needs, but are of good quality. I don't need video/audio capability on one, but I need USB/firewire capability. Any input is deeply appreciated.
__________________

plaid311 is offline  
Old 02-16-2004, 06:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 106
Default

Plaid,check out tcwo.com click on motherboards,then socket 478, i like Asus & Intel boards myself.
__________________

__________________
Square thing
With Lotsa wires & Thingy\'s
ByTeDeMoN is offline  
Old 02-16-2004, 08:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 287
Default

2.8c seemed better money wise.If you dont got an OS.

Find a site that offer's OEM version of XP if you buy a hard drive.

You need 2 sticks of memory for 800 FSB sweet spot for most seem'd to be 1 gb.

Since your getting a sound card liek ByteDemon id recommand a Intel board.If you choose not to get a sound card id get ether a Asus or a Abit.

Make sure your power supply is P4 capable


This is a pretty good board round up.

http://www6.tomshardware.com/motherb.../i875p-70.html
Deadguy is offline  
Old 02-17-2004, 11:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2
Default

"You need 2 sticks of memory for 800 FSB sweet spot for most seem'd to be 1 gb."

Are you suggesting that I go with 2 sticks of 256 DDR400 instead of 1 stick of 512?

Why is that a better way to go with my proposed configuration?
plaid311 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.