Help with memtest86 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-12-2005, 02:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to everton
Default Help with memtest86

I want to test my ram because my computers acting strange but i need help writing a bootable cd.

(no floppy drive)
__________________

everton is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 03:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

http://www.memtest.org/download/1.60...+-1.60.iso.zip

Use a CD/DVD burning utility to write the .iso (bootable) file to a disk.
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 07:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to everton
Default

What do i name the cd when i write it?
everton is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 07:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 147
Default

Do you have to name an image or an iso?
__________________
If it wasn\'t for Electricians you would be using your computer by candle light

Computer:
Athlon 64 3500+
ASUS A8V-E Deluxe Motherboard
2x512MB 400MHz DDR Dual Channel
Gigabyte X800XL - 256MB Mem
Maxtor Y160M0 - 160GB SATA
Maxtor 80GB PATA
Xaser III Case
Win XP Pro SP2
ViewSonic VX924 19\"LCD 4mS(ish)
CJJohnson is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 07:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to everton
Default

k i wrote it to a cd and i have my bios configured to boot from the cd but what commands do i need to type and how long do i need to wait or test my memory?? i have 2 512 sticks
everton is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 08:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

You don't need type anything, just let it boot and let the prog run for several hours ideally, or at least wait until it has completed 1 full run.
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 08:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

yea i know someone said they let it run for 2 days lol and didnt know when to stop it lol. yea overnight is what most people say.
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 10:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 118
Send a message via AIM to regnak
Default

Are you using windows to write it? If you are you should download ISO Recorder and use that to write it to a CD (basic windows wont burn it). I would suggest running it for a few hours but you can always cancel it early if you notice that there are quite a few errors before that. If you do recieve errors check each individual stick to make sure you have the right one.
__________________

regnak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.