Help me please!,CD burner not working! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-22-2005, 12:44 AM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 42
Default

Same here Dj
BUT first can someone give me a link to where i can buy a DVD/CDcleaner?
__________________

__________________
Stealing someones identity is nothing funny.
-Desrow- is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 12:59 AM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Use compressed air (gently) is your best bet, and on some q-tips
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 04:36 AM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 42
Default



BTW!
this is how my desktop looks when i insert a CD to the DVD/CD drive
It just says to insert CD as if it werent there!
Hopefully this will help?
Heh...
----------------------------------
Im sorry if im post whoring
Im just not "Forum friendly"
XD
__________________
Stealing someones identity is nothing funny.
-Desrow- is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 06:44 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

I would STILL suggest the MBD chipset drivers. Reason one: It is trying to install the IDE channel (probably the SAME IDE channel your CDRom is on), it is a chipset feature of the MBD, and if in DM probably either shows it with a error or as a generic. May also want to check its DMA/PIO settings, make sure its set to DMA. Im also guessing you've tried to reseat the IDE cables @ the MBD and the drive...
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 06:54 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 42
Default

Lol,how did you know?
__________________
Stealing someones identity is nothing funny.
-Desrow- is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 07:23 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

because it is showing at the beginning that there is a problem with the IDE controller. Since it is being recognized by windows and in the bios (would be if windows can see it) then the problem is with in the communication. A bad or dirty lens wont give the prompt to install the IDE channel driver. So, that means either the IDE pin id is not recognized properly (not all paths on that ribbon cable are for data, some is for media to MBD id communication and pnp info). Since its having problems with communication (physical or software) and the IDE channel gives us a hint then u can determine its either improperly seated IDE cable, the chipset driver is corrupted/not isntalled and many newer MBD's will not function due to more advanced chipset configuration, you REALLY need its special drivers for proper function, COULD be the bios, or its the setup. It maybe set for PIO but should be UDMA... usually when that happens, though, itll read the disks but SLOW and sometimes with errors.

another good test... try and boot off of the XP cd, or get a boot disk with cd support and browse the cd in dos... if it works there, its something with software.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 07:32 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 200
Send a message via MSN to wongb18c
Default

Is this a new CD rom drive you just connected up or have you been using this for awhile now and it just all of a sudden poped up an error message? .... it also could be the MBD. Borrow a IDE cable from someone and replace it and give it a try... when I had this problem happen to one of my friend it turned out that there was something wrong with his MBD. Do process of elim.
__________________
(\'.\') Q(\'\'Q) (\'.\'(O=(\'\'Q) (*.*) t(\"t )
wongb18c is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 08:12 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 42
Default

Lol,thanks,brb,ima go try some stuff to see if it works! =D
__________________
Stealing someones identity is nothing funny.
-Desrow- is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 09:22 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 42
Default

Ok it happened again,Its only reading DVD's Yay but awww,lol




Right now i burned a game Dancing Stage Fusion but its a PAL game and i live in the US(NTSC) so... yea....I converted it using this program i found on a forum and it worked now i could see everything and the screen wasnt black and white also it wasnt going up down and all over the damnfuggingplcae but there is a problem THE STEPS ARENT SYNCED WITH THE MUSIC!!! lol
I need help with that too
__________________

__________________
Stealing someones identity is nothing funny.
-Desrow- is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.