help me please! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-03-2005, 03:36 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17
Send a message via AIM to gman112287
Default

well my hd crashed awhile back then it worked for 3 days after i reformatted it and now every time i try to fix it it keeps rebootin. and ive changed the hd. its doin it on the new one.
__________________

gman112287 is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 03:49 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

Dust =)

it accumulates... parts heat up... then they go boom.


think of dust as the PC equiv of having a nice thick comfortor on.
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 04:00 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17
Send a message via AIM to gman112287
Default

i wonder if something went boom...and the heat sync is taht lil good looking metal piece that sticks out on the mb right
gman112287 is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 04:03 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17
Send a message via AIM to gman112287
Default

evan if it was just dust and i cleaned it and it still didnt work what would i need to replace if there was something that fried?
gman112287 is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 04:11 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17
Send a message via AIM to gman112287
Default

computer specs:

gigabyte p4 titan 848p

pentium 4 2.4

(sapphire) ati radoen 9600xt 256

512 pci 2700 ram

a crappy case with no case fan
gman112287 is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 04:19 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 111
Default

If the compressed air doesn't work, the best thing to do would be to troubleshoot your other components one by one. This is a lot easier if you happen to have any spare parts laying around, or even if you have a second computer or know a friend or someone who has extra parts.

If you do, simply try substituting one part at a time until you find the problem.
__________________
Pentium4 3.0C Ghz CPU 800FSB
Zalman CNPS7000A-Cu CPU cooler
Enlight 420 Watt ATX Power Supply
ASUS P4P800 SE Motherboard (Intel 865PE chipset)
2x 512MB Crucial PC3200 DDR SDRAM
eVGA Nvidia 128MB e-Geforce 6600GT 8x AGP
WD 74GB Raptor SATA HD (10,000 RPM)
NEC 16x DVD +/- R/RW Writer
NEC 16x DVD-ROM
MyHD 120 PCI HDTV tuner card
Apacer embedded 6in1 card reader
4 Cooler Master 80mm case fans
Vantec HD cooler
Viewsonic P810 21\" CRT monitor
Windows XP Pro Service Pack 1
Dean66 is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 07:16 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17
Send a message via AIM to gman112287
Default

thank you for your help dean. i went to a local computer store but they didnt have anything that i needed. so im gonna try another one. i would like to go find a can of air and maybe a case cooling fan cause i didnt have one in there. i think ill start by troubleshooting the graphics card first.
gman112287 is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 07:52 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

Canned air = walmart or any office supply store

Cooling fans = www.newegg.com

oh, and i just saw you were using the gigabyte p4 titan.. That motherboard has a history of problems. They usually work for 2 years and die, they were discontinued last year. 10$ says the boards bad, go buy a new one.
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 10:17 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17
Send a message via AIM to gman112287
Default

lol oh freakin my....hmm how much will a good board run me and what is the best to get? i need one for a p4 2.4 and a ati radeon 9600xt 256. if u can show me one that will support the stuff i have and the stuff that is out now that would be great because i am looking to slowly upgrade. thank you for your help senseless i really appreciate it!
gman112287 is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 10:21 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

Look for your socket number....and AGP graphics slot. And make sure your RAM's comptable...but mostly you'll need to worry about the socket number...most mobos out have an AGP card, unless you buy a super good one
__________________

__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.