Help me Please!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-27-2004, 12:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 7
Default Reboot Question- Help Plz!!


Ive built computers for people before so I know more or less what im doing. I recently built a new gaming comp for myself
Stats are follows:

Athlon 64 3500+
ASUS A8V Deluxe mobo
2x512mb Corsair value ram
ATI Radeon 9800PRO 256mb/256bit
160gb Seagate HD
Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS
420Watt power supply
4x80mm fans
ASUS CD/RW drive

Now Ive been looking at tech forums for a while and ive noticed a lot of people with a similar config to mine have the same problem. The computer seems to reboot on its own a lot, for me it happens all the time in games and in no other type of application. I installed half-life 2 and it played perfectly for 4-5 hours and then i switched to CS:Source and it rebooted 10 minutes into it. Ive tried about 5 different games on all different settings and the only one that didnt have a problem was Doom 3, which i played for a solid 2 hours.

Does anyone know of a solid way to fix this? I tried almost all the Catalyst drivers and even the Omega ones with no luck. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

HighTower1187 is offline  
Old 11-27-2004, 12:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

Whats your temperatures, of your graphics card, motherboard, and CPU.....

Have you checked your voltages for extreme power fluctuations which would indicate a struggling and/or failing PSU.

I don't know if this has anything to do with it, but personally I hate ASUS and I've noticed a lot of people with ASUS boards having problems and coming to these threads, whereas boards like MSI, ABit, DFI and such boards like that I rarely see anyone having problems with. ASUS used to be a damn good motherboard maker, but IMO their quality has severely dropped and their customer support is beyond horrible

Nubius is offline  
Old 11-27-2004, 12:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya

Sounds like a PSU problem. Take it to a local computer store to get it checked. I have an ASUS board and have had no problems, so I can't confirm what a lot of people are saying about ASUS being crap. I am almost certain its your PSU.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 11-27-2004, 12:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 7

I agree with ASUS's customer support being pretty bad, but I read a lot of reviews and that mobo got a load of Editors Choice Awards. Now im not too advanced in knowledge about power supplies but i checked the voltage and it was fine, i used a power calculation program and it said the min. amount of wattage id need was less than 300. The temperatures were all in the normal range too. Besides, my comp is in my cold basement with 4 fans and the heatsink all working properly. Ive got no clue what the problem could be.
HighTower1187 is offline  
Old 11-27-2004, 07:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124

Have you tried the latest Motherboard Bios update ? Updating the chipset drivers ?
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 11-27-2004, 12:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 128
Send a message via ICQ to Smokin-A.I. Send a message via AIM to Smokin-A.I. Send a message via Yahoo to Smokin-A.I.

i have seen this many times , and its not something that is related to any certain mobo...there is usualy a problem in the vid card..sometime resetting to lower specs will work...also liik in your mobo bios for the settings there that relat to your vid card...try lowering them..? is the vid card overclocked ?

if its not artifical intelligence, why have it?
Smokin-A.I. is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.