Help me figure this out.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-04-2005, 02:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default Help me figure this out....

Temp sensor confustion...

ok heres is the situation...
CPU - xp 3000 400fsb.

Motherbourd monitor 5 found 3 bourd sensors. Im trying to figure out witch is the CPU temp sensor.

1 - starts out random low numbers and steadys out at random 20s(24) at startup idling..... at full load it steadily increasess to 47c max

2 - stays rock solid some were around 28 at idle..... 31c max at full load

3 - stays right around 34 - 38 idle..... 42c max at full load
-------------------------------------------------

Ok, this is why im realy confused... my bios always says CPU is somewere from 34 - 38c idle. (even right at startup for the first time)

so it looks like sensor# 3 has it right on the money... but the max sensor#3 goes to is 42c? usually doesnt go above 40c... Don't AMD's at full load usually get hotter? (i dont have experience with any other temp readings)

Sensor# 1 goes up to a temp witch i thought might look more like cpu full load at 47c but at idle it drops back down to about 28c. and when i start up the comp, or restart. sensor1 is all randome like... -11c to 4c to 16c were it finally gets up to about 24c.... also, sensor#1 is a lot less responsive then the others, i have to leave the comp at full load for maybe 10 to 15 minuts maybe more, b4 senosr1 will start rising... were as the others start rising withing a minute.

so let me hear what u guys think is the Temp snesore for the CPU, cause i could use some advice.

also wile we'r on the subject... MBM5 also can read my HDD's Temp readings, it reads the HD at right about 33c.... what is the Max HD Temps are suppost to go up to? if anyone knows just for my own reference.
__________________

jolancer is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 04:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 206
Send a message via AIM to NickBrown7804
Default

well dude heres a simple idea

take the fans off that are plugged in and whatever ones the bios isnt showing the rpms for is that one. and then just basic trial and error.
__________________

__________________
Sometimes I wonder if I\'m enough a nerd to do this...

Intel P4 3.6 Intel LGA775 board.
Nvidia BFG 6800 GT OC PCI-e.
Ultra 600W power supply unit.
2 80 gig Maxtor (raid0) 160 gig (bulk)
OCZ 2048MB 4200 DDR2 (2 x1024MB)
ThermalTake. Tornado primary.
19\" LG LCD
NickBrown7804 is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 05:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

NickBrown7804 - no offence, but u didnt read my post... im looking for the CPU TEMPERATUR sensore, not the fan speed sensores.
jolancer is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 05:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

more times than not sensor 1 is the CPU....it might be reading your CPU, ambient temp, northbridge/chipset temp in that order.

Don't know anything about HDD temp because it doesn't do that for mine.

When I change the sensor diode to another I'll either get -48, 48 or 120C being shown lol
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 07:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Stick your finger in the CPU fan, easy way to tell

NOTE: Only do this with weak fans, no thermaltakes or tornado's
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 06:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

Thx for the input. but lol no im not going to stick my finger in the fan, unless its absolutly nessesary.

i think i figured it out though...

I disconnected all the case fans, so case tempature built up to 39c full load. and what sensor1 did that it didnt do befor is it gradually built up to 58c then it dropped back down to 20c and kept cycling like that. sensor3 idled at 45c and built up stead to 54c full load. so sensor 3 is prolly CPU.

strange though when i pluged all the case fans back in and restarted, sensor1 doesnt cycle.

EDIT: wile were on the topic, if any one knows, post what your max case temperature ever went up to with all your fans pluged in during for example - summer time. so i have reference to were i should set the max case temp alarm in MBM5.
jolancer is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 06:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

Quote:
Don't know anything about HDD temp because it doesn't do that for mine
HDD temps arent enabled by default. theres an option in there somewere to enable the reading of S.M.A.R.T HDDs. but read about the option in the Help file first, its not totally bug free, it said soemthing about having problems on win98/me , and possible hibernation power setting problems in w2k. but im on XP pro and dont use hibernation, so i enabled it.
jolancer is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 06:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jolancer
Thx for the input. but lol no im not going to stick my finger in the fan, unless its absolutly nessesary.

i think i figured it out though...

I disconnected all the case fans, so case tempature built up to 39c full load. and what sensor1 did that it didnt do befor is it gradually built up to 58c then it dropped back down to 20c and kept cycling like that. sensor3 idled at 45c and built up stead to 54c full load. so sensor 3 is prolly CPU.

strange though when i pluged all the case fans back in and restarted, sensor1 doesnt cycle.

EDIT: wile were on the topic, if any one knows, post what your max case temperature ever went up to with all your fans pluged in during for example - summer time. so i have reference to were i should set the max case temp alarm in MBM5.
22 degrees in the average spot
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 07:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

Quote:
22 degrees in the average spot
22 for case temp in summer time?

i guess i should of stated... What were your case tempertures during room temp of 85F or higher.. 30c or higher.

it probably reaches 90F or higher were i live.
jolancer is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 05:17 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

just a note - this entire time i mixed up sensor 1 with sensor 3 in all above posts.( im not using the pc at the moment) so it is sensor 1 that is the accurate one, and CPU temp.
__________________

jolancer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.