Help me decide on 30 in Monitor - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-24-2008, 08:13 PM   #21 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Help me decide on 30 in Monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213 View Post
I dont see Contrast Ratio anywhere. For somethign like that it should be pretty dang high.

I would go with the 9800 GX2 as that has 2 GPU's on it compared to the 9800GTX.
This would be the perfect situation for crossfire/sli though . And he said game design not gaming.
__________________

__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 05-26-2008, 02:55 PM   #22 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 195
Default Re: Help me decide on 30 in Monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213 View Post
I dont see Contrast Ratio anywhere. For somethign like that it should be pretty dang high.

I would go with the 9800 GX2 as that has 2 GPU's on it compared to the 9800GTX.
They said, contrast ratio was


25:000:1
__________________

lafguy81 is offline  
Old 05-27-2008, 12:07 PM   #23 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Help me decide on 30 in Monitor

Just remember that a large HDTV is not going to have the same resolution as a 30" monitor. At best the HDTV is only going to be 1920x1080 whereas a 30" lcd monitor is going to be 2500x1600? I forget the exact resolution but its a lot higher.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 05-27-2008, 01:48 PM   #24 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Help me decide on 30 in Monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by lafguy81 View Post
They said, contrast ratio was


25:000:1
Sorry that number doesnt make sense to me. I could see if they said 25,000:1 but the highest i have ever seen on a monitor is 10,000:1 contrast ratio.

If it really had 25,000:1 then it would be more than great.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-27-2008, 01:57 PM   #25 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 195
Default Re: Help me decide on 30 in Monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213 View Post
Sorry that number doesnt make sense to me. I could see if they said 25,000:1 but the highest i have ever seen on a monitor is 10,000:1 contrast ratio.

If it really had 25,000:1 then it would be more than great.
The 40 in model has 8000:1
lafguy81 is offline  
Old 05-27-2008, 02:02 PM   #26 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Help me decide on 30 in Monitor

So how is it the 30" model has 25,000 and the 40" has 8,000?

Meh. Wont ask. I have seen 19"LCD's with 10,000 and 22" ones with 3,000.

I just said it doesn't make sense to me cause 25:000:1 is not a contrast ratio number.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-27-2008, 02:04 PM   #27 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 195
Default Re: Help me decide on 30 in Monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Just remember that a large HDTV is not going to have the same resolution as a 30" monitor. At best the HDTV is only going to be 1920x1080 whereas a 30" lcd monitor is going to be 2500x1600? I forget the exact resolution but its a lot higher.
Good Point I wondered that myself and if when all is said and done if having 2500x1600 wouldn't be smarter.


right now the machine I use now it at 1920x1200 at 24". I wonder what 1920x1080 would actually look like on a 37 or 40 in monitor vs 2500x1600 on a 30in monitor. Maybe someone here can get me pics
lafguy81 is offline  
Old 05-27-2008, 02:54 PM   #28 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Help me decide on 30 in Monitor

For any type of editing you would be better served with the higher resonlution. For gaming, the bigger hdtv with lower res is probably the better way to go. But i love my 24" widescreen monitor, just cant see dropping 1200+ on a 30" monitor.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 05-27-2008, 03:04 PM   #29 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 195
Default Re: Help me decide on 30 in Monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213 View Post
So how is it the 30" model has 25,000 and the 40" has 8,000?

Meh. Wont ask. I have seen 19"LCD's with 10,000 and 22" ones with 3,000.

I just said it doesn't make sense to me cause 25:000:1 is not a contrast ratio number.

I know I was agreeing with you since 40 had 8000 no way 37 would be that different.
lafguy81 is offline  
Old 05-27-2008, 03:08 PM   #30 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 195
Default Re: Help me decide on 30 in Monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
For any type of editing you would be better served with the higher resonlution. For gaming, the bigger hdtv with lower res is probably the better way to go. But i love my 24" widescreen monitor, just cant see dropping 1200+ on a 30" monitor.
I'd want 2500x1600 res is why I would go 30. I have edited on here but, still wish I had more space don't want dual either.
__________________

lafguy81 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No boot power turns on but no signal in monitor ekw808 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 03-05-2008 12:01 PM
New Monitor Time.... I guess?? sadisticmidget New Systems | Building and Buying 17 08-26-2007 07:32 PM
Monitor resetting Screamsalvation Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 16 07-30-2007 03:58 PM
Dual Monitor Issue Ultra Steel Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-18-2007 08:03 AM
Looking for a new Computer Monitor ? Try this one.. Osiris New Systems | Building and Buying 14 04-07-2007 09:26 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.