help me on comp builing - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-21-2005, 03:58 PM   #21 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by VIII
sorry but do u know anything...? [he's refering to me]

firstly SLI runs in PCI Express, not AGP.. And there is no special kind of SLI card, u just buy 2 pci-e cards which are cheaper than AGP cards.

Dude, ignore that emerald dudes post, don't let it confuse your decision. ur setup is GREAT, but why do u need 2 dvd dual layer burners???
Somebody clear this up. Don't you need a special SLI card(s) to run SLI? Cauze if you can't really shove 2 cards in there, plug the moniter into ONE (defeats the purpose of sli) and expect it to work?

I never said that SLI works in AGP, but it does prove at least part of my point. Why are you buying 2 non-SLIed AGP cards, and plugging them into AGP ports that you said don't support SLI and expecting expect them to work with no hassles?

Somebody clear this up.
__________________

__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 04:15 PM   #22 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Capricorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 372
Default

That's a heck of a nice system. I run Doom 3 and HL2 in high settings on a setup that's not nearly that good (see sig). I can't imagine you'll have any problems.

My thoughts already echoed by others is power supply and cooling. Here's a picture of a 6800 GT SLI setup samelessly referenced from hexus.net. Note the cable that connects the two cards. That's part of the magic that makes them work together. (Read the first of two articles at Hexus.)

With each of those cards pulling in excess of 100 Watts each, power should be a concern. Also, you've got top-shelf parts elsewhere, so don't skimp on the power supply. A poor or over-taxed power supply can show up looking like a lot of other problems like bad memory or graphics. Go with a good brand like Antec TruePower, PC Power & Cooling, others that people are suggesting here.

Also, those video cards generate a lot of heat, so plan on cooling them accordingly. A side fan blowing directly on them comes to mind.
__________________

__________________
Case: Enermax CS-A106USB
P/S: OCZ OCZ700GXSSLI 700W
Motherboard: ASUS P5N32-E SLI
CPU: Intel E6300(idle 35C/load 39C)
RAM: OCZ Platinum Rev 2 DDR2 800 MHz (4 x 1GB) 4-4-4-15-T1 (2.1v)
Hard Disk: Seagate 2x250GB SATA ST3250620AS in RAID1
Monitor: Mitsubishi DP900u
Graphics: BFG GeForce 8800GT PCI-E
Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty
Speakers: Klipsch ProMedia v.2-400 4.1 speakers
Optical: LiteOn 16X DVD-ROM; Sony DRU-710A DVD-RW
Capricorn is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 04:37 PM   #23 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Capricorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 372
Default

As to whether SLI capable cards are "special," I would guess that they aren't all that special. They do need the interGPU connector. If you look at this picture of the eVGA 6800 GT from NewEgg, you'll see the litte connector just above the heatsink on the top of the card. A good many of the PCI-E 6600 GTs and 6800 GTs have this. I can't say if all do. (If someone wants to send me a PCI-E motherboard and a couple of 6800 GTs in order for me to check this out, let me know.)
__________________
Case: Enermax CS-A106USB
P/S: OCZ OCZ700GXSSLI 700W
Motherboard: ASUS P5N32-E SLI
CPU: Intel E6300(idle 35C/load 39C)
RAM: OCZ Platinum Rev 2 DDR2 800 MHz (4 x 1GB) 4-4-4-15-T1 (2.1v)
Hard Disk: Seagate 2x250GB SATA ST3250620AS in RAID1
Monitor: Mitsubishi DP900u
Graphics: BFG GeForce 8800GT PCI-E
Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty
Speakers: Klipsch ProMedia v.2-400 4.1 speakers
Optical: LiteOn 16X DVD-ROM; Sony DRU-710A DVD-RW
Capricorn is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 05:42 PM   #24 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default

Because there is so much confusion on the SLI subject, let me clear it up for everyone. In order to have S a working SLI system, you need an SLI compatable motherboard. It will have the chipset "nForce4 SLI". Example: http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...131-524&depa=1 . Notice the 2 PCI-Express slots here: http://www.newegg.com/app/Showimage....131-524-02.jpg . SLI only works with PCI-Express. The 2 cards must be both SLI compatible. It will say so on the box. Most 6600GTs, and 6800 series cards the support PCI-E interface will be SLI compatible. They must be the same model. You put both of them in the seperate PCI-E slots and connect them at the top connectors with the SLI bridge (included with SLI compatible motherboards.) See here: http://pantherproducts.co.uk/Article...I%20bridge.jpg . It may look different, depending on which motherboard you have. Plug the monitor into one of them (not sure which one, or even if it matters). If they have power connectors, connect a power calbe to each one. That is how SLI works.
Sport1031 is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 05:43 PM   #25 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default hi

SLI is basically taking any two pci-e graphics cards. Exact same card same company and chipset and using a bridge between the two cards. Not hard to do at all. As to my knowledge i believe that all pci-e graphics cards have this feature
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 07:53 PM   #26 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 29
Default

arent these the pci-e 6800gt?

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...130-215&depa=1
lordjames is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 08:05 PM   #27 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lordjames
arent these the pci-e 6800gt?

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...130-215&depa=1
yes they are and they will work in SLI if you have a SLI compatable motherboard. At the top of this thread you said that the card was AGP 8X. If you want SLI you must get PCI-E. That is what the picture on the previous post is. The motherboard you have listed at the top is not SLI compatable, even though it has 2 PCI-E slots (kinda weird). If you want a DFI SLI motherboard here is one. I would suggest this one because ASUS is very trustworthy and I havnt heard much about DFI.
Sport1031 is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 08:10 PM   #28 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 29
Default

yah im getting the dfi one people are telling me to get it and im geting the pci-e cards
lordjames is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 08:12 PM   #29 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

the one sport1031 suggested is pretty good
__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 06:42 AM   #30 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default

If you going with DFI you must get this motherboard here if you want SLI.
__________________

Sport1031 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.